We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a view, unique restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-727-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a view, unique restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The floor rotates so you see a panoramic view of Duluth. Service was excellent, late night food was delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    72
    26
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Revolving restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate here because we wanted to visit the revolving restaurant. The views are great and that made it fun. The service was very good, the food was good, but it was quite expensive. We had dinner so we could Duluth at night - perhaps breakfast would have been a better price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came in with family from out of town for Bluesfest. Cindy, our waitress, was absolutely fantastic and made the whole dining experience very enjoyable! What a fun night. Compliments to the chef as well - the cinnamon rubbed sirloin was delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annerae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, drinks, service and scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The menu was to the point, we started with the perfectly prepared scallops, it was refreshing and light with the hollandaise orange sauce! My boyfriend and I split the pecan crusted walleye with mashed potatoes and vegetables! Great portions to split, and our server Tyler was knowledgable and very attentive! Definitely will be returning customers :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swolff31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We didnt want to leave the hotel for breakfast so we decided on this place on the roof of the Radisson Hotel. It has breathtaking views of Duluth and it revolves 360 degrees every hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PPowell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing