We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent manager and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Excellent manager and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our reservations at the restaurant were part of a special trip with my parents. We had two meals there, and Kirsten, the restaurant manager, made certain that we had a great spot to view the Tall Ships. Zach and Joanne, our servers, were both cheerful and accommodating, sharing information about the surroundings and the festival and setting aside a dessert for my mother to take to her room when the restaurant closed. We couldn't have asked for nicer treatment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    75
    29
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was magnificent, The 360 degree sky-view was delightful. We had a wonderful server very friendly. We absolutely loved the desserts. A must see and eat experience in Duluth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Restaurant at the top of a hotel. Not a new idea. But this one rotates as you eat. It did about 1.5 rotations during our dinner. Fun to watch the changing scenery.

Food was good, service was okay. Not special but not bad either. But go for the view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudge828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“Sumptous dining and magnificent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were greeted as soon as we got off the elevator by friendly staff and a Superior view.
There was background music that was not intrusive, but it set the tone for a delightful surprise.
We shared the 360 degree sky-view with soaring gulls. Cindy soon came to take our first requests with a sunny smile and warm greeting. Dinner was incredible! Lamb, New York Strip to perfection, tasty soup, creative sides, and fresh, warm bread was followed by delicate deserts.
Applause to the Chef! All tables are next to the window on the gently rotating dining area...always a new view of lake, harbor and skyline. Fulfilling experience. Soon to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a night to remember with dinner, music, and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good servers and waitresses like our Candace Saturday night July 6th make everything special and couples and families that we saw near our booth. The slow circling around to see the lights of Duluth and Twin Ports harbour were nice along with the music of the 3 some Bowers group with John Thorene and his fun 2 partners that played the TN Waltz for our 30th anniversary!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank breitfinancial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJAstor_12, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am thrilled to read your glowing review of our JJ Astor Server, Candice, as well as the kind words regarding your overall experience in both the Bowery Bros. and JJ Astor. We are so happy to have been a part of making your 30th Anniversary memorable. We look forward to seeing you for your 31st Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing