We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superior customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

From walking through the door to check-in, to checking-out and all encounters inbetween, the hotel staff made us feel very welcome, with what seemed to be a very genuine interest and offers to help with anything. The room was fabulous with a high standard of decor and amenities such as fridge, microwave, plenty of seating and tables, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities etc. We felt that we had everything we could possibly need to feel at home (including free washing powder for the laundry!). The outside seating space & barbecue area was relaxing and well-furnished. A very nice place to travel from along the North Shore of Lake Superior.

Room Tip: We opted for a studio room, which had all the facilities we needed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Water saving with laundry of towels, however, you could opt for clean towels every day if wanted.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dthompson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your great review!

We greatly appreciate when travelers recognize our efforts when it comes to customer service and it's very validating for each and every one of our employees.

We hope that you will stay with us again soon -- next time, we'll do our best to provide you with an even better experience!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    50
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
69
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Located just off the highway west of town. We booked in to a junior suite on an August Saturday on short notice. The front desk staff was ver friendly and helpful and we were give the choice of a couple of rooms; both seemed very nice. The hotel was very busy with both adult couples and families with children of all sizes. Nevertheless, our first floor room was quiet as well as being spacious and well designed. The king bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was convenient and functional. A small kitchenette with full size refrigerator would suit multi-day travelers which we were not. The pool was nice although it swarmed with urchins and the exercise room seemed ok. The laundry facilities are convenient. Complementary breakfasts were more than adequate. Bottom line: this is a very good choice for travelers who don't insist on close proximity to downtown action or lake views. We thought $259 was a bit pricey but we'd stay here again if we needed to spend time in Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad that your stay was restful and recreational. We hope that you will give us a call the next time you're in town - maybe it will even be for an extended stay so that you can thoroughly enjoy everything our property has to offer!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

When you walk in to this property, the first thing you see is the tripadvisor approval rating, the best hotel 2014. Then you step in to the lobby, a very nice lady helping you with your reservation, trying to see if the room is available, since I check in at 11 a.m. Done with check in, get to the room, beautiful room with fire place, sitting area, separate bedroom, very clean and quiet. Breakfast and manager special are very good, plenty seating in the breakfast area, also outside where you can sit by the fire pit. The hotel located near the mall and shopping area, two grocery stores. Downtown approximately 10 minutes, also the airport. The hotel doesn't provide you with shuttle , but they can call a taxi cab even early in the morning. My flight was at 5 a.m , so I left with the cab that I ordered the day before at 3:20 a.m.
I have no complaint whatsoever, beautiful property, professional staff, No wonder they received the best hotel 2014 from tripadvisor?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the entirety of your stay. Our goal is to provide an exceptional traveler experience and it's very gratifying to hear travelers laud our hotel for the things our employees work so hard to provide.

We hope that the next time you're in Duluth, you will consider staying with again!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Overall we were very happy with our five day stay at the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was well insulated so we did not hear noises from the hallway and adjacent rooms. I would have given the hotel a 5 star rating except for two things. When we first entered the room after checking in the room looked in very clean, but when I walked behind the chair in the room to look out the window I found a food wrapper on the floor. This made me second guess how clean the room really was. Also the air conditioner in the room worked well, but the vent in the living / sitting room area was directed right at the sofa and was not adjustable. So you would freeze if you were sitting on the sofa, but if you turned the AC down then the room was to warm. We ended up taping paper over the vent during our five day stay so that we could actually use the sofa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and will definitely take into consideration your comments as we are continually looking for ways to improve our guest's experience.

We apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you're in the area.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is four years old and very well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel location is near neighborhood malls and lacks the lake views of other Duluth options. Place was very crowded the weekend I stayed and rates accordingly high. Many extended stay corporate residents at the property. Would certainly recommend for nicely appointed, comfortable, large rooms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank brbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback about our property and your recommendation of our hotel.

We hope that we will have opportunity to accommodate you again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights during a recent vacation. We opted for the two-room suite (bedroom and bathroom areas separated from the living room by a door), which comes with a fireplace. The rooms were large, very well appointed and clean. Breakfast and food during evening social times were very good, and the seating areas (inside and out) are comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is near the mall (not a great mall), but is not located near the downtown area or the lake. You will definitely want a car if you stay here as there is little nearby that would be considered "within walking distance". The location is the primary reason I gave the hotel a "4" instead of "5". If you're looking for a nice place to stay and are not worried about being near downtown or the lake, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Two-room suites are worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageGuy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us!

We hope that the next time you're in Duluth, you will consider staying with us again!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Got checked-in early by very friendly & helpful front desk (Mike). Property is very clean as are the rooms. Very close to food & shopping & about 5 minutes to waterfront. Still in my stay & enjoying it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahmeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We will pass along this nice comment to Mike and let him know that you had a good check-in experience.

We hope you did/have enjoyed the entirety of your stay with us and want to thank you again for your kind review!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing