We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient location and great service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights during a trip to Duluth and the North Shore. Like some have mentioned, this hotel is not on or near the lake. However, for those looking for a hotel with great service, clean rooms and convenient location, this is a great place to stay. We used this as our starting point for our many day trips to Bayfield, Grand Marais, Two Harbors, and of course, the city of Duluth itself. Having the full kitchen in each room is great for longer stays, and there is a Cub Foods grocery store just next door. If you don't mind not being on the lake, I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were very friendly, and attentive.

Green Features: Would like to have seen recycling containers available in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tptn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review!

We're glad that you had the opportunity to explore Duluth and the surrounding areas all while staying at our property. We hope that the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    54
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
71
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First, let me say that it is important that you know that this hotel is NOT on the lake. That said, it is an excellent hotel. We found the rooms clean, comfortable, excellent for a three night stay. The nearby grocery store and shopping was very helpful. It is quite a drive down to the waterfront - and that was too bad. For some reason, I just didn't realize that when booking the hotel.

It's the only reason why I'd give this a less than excellent rating - otherwise it was just a fantastic stay all around. We would stay here again. But, if you want to be on the waterfront - keep looking!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good - the hotel is very new, and nicely laid out.
See more room tips
Green Features: It is a new, up-to-date hotel and they offer all the environmentally friendly options (recycling, reusing your towels, etc).
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

Unfortunately, it's inevitable that every now and then travelers are caught off guard that our property is not located directly next to Lake Superior.

However, we're confident that the service and amenities offered by our property are superior for the area. We're glad that despite the mix up you still enjoyed your stay and we hope that the next time you're in Duluth you will consider staying with us again!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are huge, immaculately clean and have all the comforts of home. The front desk was extremely helpful with an early check in and spot on with recommendations for seeing the highlights in Duluth. We selected this hotel based on trip advisor ratings and have not been disappointed. We also reviewed trip advisor things to do list and totally agree with the top five here in Duluth.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JGEBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your great review!

Another affirmation of how great TripAdvisor can be for travelers. We're very fortunate that travelers have recommended our property to others - and we're glad that it has meant great stays for others.

We hope that if you plan on visiting Duluth again that you will give us a call!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Duluth for Grandmas Marathon (she ran, not me) and the hotel staff/accommodations were great. Friendly staff, good breakfast and only 10 minutes to canal park. If you can't stay by the lake, you can't go wrong staying here

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that the race and your stay went well & we're hopeful that you will stay will us again for Grandma's Marathon in 2015!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 for a weekend away from the twin cities. I must say that this place offered more than I was expecting from a hotel. Helpful and friendly staff. I was surprised how pleasant the staff was and helped suggest hiking trips in the area for us. Spotless and clean throughout. Near a fair amount of shopping and restaurants. Location is good to make your base camp while going on day trips around the area. It is removed (not walking distance) from the downtown area, but an easy drive down the hill. The rooms were excellent and spacious and better than some 5-star hotels I have stayed. Good selection at the continental breakfast in the morning. Arrive early as it is popular. Great staff, great stay. I have recommended this hotel to numerous friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you have recommended us to others. We understand that it has been awhile since you last stayed but we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel from March thru first of June. What a great place with a wonderful staff. They got to know us and spoke every time we saw them. Great lobby area for hanging out. Breakfast and dinner were always good. The pool area is nice, however the hot tub is way over chlorinated. Ruined my wife's bathing suit. The patio area was also very nice and we took full advantage of the gas grill on the weekends. Would recommend this place for anyone headed to Duluth

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ccorley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed here a couple times and I don't have a single complaint about this business. Spacious, clean rooms. Hotel is pretty new so everything is very nice. Comfortable beds and always quiet. The breakfast is great. Good selection of food and always had plenty available. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NoRightOnRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us!

We hope that the next time you're in Duluth we will have the opportunity to offer you another great stay!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
2.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing