We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Duluth for Grandmas Marathon (she ran, not me) and the hotel staff/accommodations were great. Friendly staff, good breakfast and only 10 minutes to canal park. If you can't stay by the lake, you can't go wrong staying here

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We hope that the race and your stay went well & we're hopeful that you will stay will us again for Grandma's Marathon in 2015!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    48
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
63
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 for a weekend away from the twin cities. I must say that this place offered more than I was expecting from a hotel. Helpful and friendly staff. I was surprised how pleasant the staff was and helped suggest hiking trips in the area for us. Spotless and clean throughout. Near a fair amount of shopping and restaurants. Location is good to make your base camp while going on day trips around the area. It is removed (not walking distance) from the downtown area, but an easy drive down the hill. The rooms were excellent and spacious and better than some 5-star hotels I have stayed. Good selection at the continental breakfast in the morning. Arrive early as it is popular. Great staff, great stay. I have recommended this hotel to numerous friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you have recommended us to others. We understand that it has been awhile since you last stayed but we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel from March thru first of June. What a great place with a wonderful staff. They got to know us and spoke every time we saw them. Great lobby area for hanging out. Breakfast and dinner were always good. The pool area is nice, however the hot tub is way over chlorinated. Ruined my wife's bathing suit. The patio area was also very nice and we took full advantage of the gas grill on the weekends. Would recommend this place for anyone headed to Duluth

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ccorley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed here a couple times and I don't have a single complaint about this business. Spacious, clean rooms. Hotel is pretty new so everything is very nice. Comfortable beds and always quiet. The breakfast is great. Good selection of food and always had plenty available. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NoRightOnRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us!

We hope that the next time you're in Duluth we will have the opportunity to offer you another great stay!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My job brings me to Duluth 3-4 times a year, and I've tried a number of hotels in the area. This one has so far won me over as being the best I've stayed in.

It is situated a little way from the downtown, which is probably a good thing. And there is very good access to shopping and dining. Ample parking and a seemingly calm and safe neighborhood.

I'm not sure when it was built, but it is modern and fresh. Doesn't feel dated at all. The lobby is pleasant, and the staff I've interacted with have been friendly and professional.

You'll find a well stocked mini shop by check in. Also several nights during the week they provide free food. Whilst it isn't going to win a Michelin Star any time soon, I was actually pretty impressed on the two nights I ate there. In fact to tell the truth I have paid for food in hotel restaurants that were nowhere near as good as what they offer for free here!

I was upgraded to a corner king suite which as usual for a Residence Inn has a full sized kitchen complete with decent sized fridge freezer, dishwasher, oven, hob, and microwave. There was a good sized table for two and a separate work desk, with ample plug in point all over.

This kitchen area flows into the living room with a large sofa and sitting chair, a fireplace (which is a really nice and oft necessary piece of equipment in icy Duluth), and big screen TV. Decor was pleasant as are the furnishings.

There's a decent sized sink and bathroom area, and separate bedroom with king bed and another big screen TV.

Housekeeping was efficient and didn't make any mistakes the whole time I was there. Everything being cleaned and tidied as I would expect with good attention to detail.

Duluth is not New York, you are not going to have a million choices of hotels up here. But for most people's needs, this is good solid quality accommodation that is going to be hard to beat around here.

If I had to complain about anything it would be that my bed was just average. I've had far better in many Marriott properties. It wasn't bad, I just found the mattress ordinary.

My other concern would be a lack of covered parking. This is an area that gets a LOT of snow. Heck it even snowed today, and it's MAY! So I'd be concerned staying here in the winter that I'd have to spend some time digging my car out of the snow. Other similar hotels, such as the Holliday Inn downtown have ramp parking.

Other than those two observations, this is a very nice property, doing a great job. I've already booked my next stay here.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a room with a fireplace if you're staying in the many many cold months that D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZCT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us!

We very much appreciate positive reviews, but it's even more gratifying to hear praise from guests who have stayed at some great properties across the country.

In regards to parking. Although covered parking at our hotel is limited, we certainly aim to be proactive when it comes to snow removal and guest assistance during the winter months. We hope that will not deter you from staying with us in December (or May!) when it might be snowing in Duluth.

Again, thanks so much for the review and we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I booked this hotel strictly by tripadvisor reviews. I usually stay downtown, but wanted to stay near the shopping area, and passed this place a few times. It was worth it! I was greeted with 2 super friendly faces, and even when I was slightly confused on where I was booked in at (There's another Marriott, but not residence, up the road, and I might have hit the panic button as I thought I booked the wrong one lol), a nice quick check in got me into my room. Now, I've never stayed at this chain before, so I was shocked, but there was a FULL kitchen in the room! Right down to a dishwasher!! Now, the name hints that it's meant for more than a one night stay, but I actually asked if I was upgraded rooms for free, because it was great! I didn't check out many of the amenities, but the dining area seemed nice, and there was a group of people enjoying their take out in the area, I peeked in the pool and all the kids seemed happy. The beds were super comfy. My only critique was maybe parking, there isn't much around the hotel, but there's a big dirt lot off to the side. But I'm really grasping at straws, here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we very much appreciate your kind comments. We must say, we were pretty excited about your review just by looking at the title!

We're glad that TripAdvisor was helpful in your choice to stay with us. We find it to be an incredibly useful tool for travelers looking for hotel recommendations, especially those who may have only been accustomed to staying in one part of the city, but are looking to try something different.

We're glad that it worked out for you and certainly hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location was great with good proximity to shopping and restaurants on the hill. We found the suite very clean and representative of what you would expect from this 'brand'

We stayed here during Grandma's Marathon, 2013. The staff were very energetic around the events taking place, and we found them all to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel is only a few blocks from the mall, where shuttle buses pick up for the start of the race.

My only negative (picky) - It seemed to me to be quiet a hike to carry things in and out of the hotel from the parking lot to the room, especially if you parked in the back (long ramp).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WI87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate your comments about our hotel and hope that your stay was a memorable one. If we're fortunate enough to accommodate you while in Duluth again, please let us help you with your bags. Although, we don't have a traditional bellman for assistance with bags, we would be more than happy to get you situated, especially for such a big weekend!

Thank you again for your great review. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing