We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Duluthian Winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Duluthian Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family of two adults and three kids has just spent a delightful long weekend at Marriott's Residence Inn in Duluth. We had a modern family suite on the ground floor, consisting of a queen bedroom, a king bedroom and a sofa bed in the living area.
I can't tell you how happy I am when I find a hotel that can put all of us in one suite without the bother of booking two rooms and trying to get them within a day's walk of each other! Our suite had two bathrooms, three TVs (with HBO) and A FULL KITCHEN, all for US$229 a night. What more do I need to say!
But wait, there's more! The complimentary breakfast was excellent - fresh juice, homemade waffles, hot breakfast and takeaway, should you wish. The kids loved the indoor heated pool and spa in the dead of a Minnesotan winter, and I loved not having to traipse far from our room to get there. The complimentary wifi was faster and more consistent than just about any hotel I have stayed in. The staff are attentive, warm and polite - nothing is a problem they cant try to help you with.
There is a huge supermarket and coffee place right next door, and the Miller Hill Mall is only half a mile away.
Thank you to all the folk on Tripadvisor who recommended this hotel. It really helps on family trips to know of a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved the family suite on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

You probably could've stopped after your GREAT title and we would have been happy, but we certainly do appreciate the excellent review! TripAdvisor is a great channel to share your positive experiences with other travelers. We're glad that it helped you select our property and we're even more glad that you have decided to share your positive experience. Reviews like yours are very gratifying for our staff and empower us to make your next experience an even better one; so for that we thank you.

We hope that you and your family will return to Duluth soon, and again, choose to stay with us at the Residence Inn!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    48
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
63
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is probably the best I've stayed at in Duluth. Rooms are very modern with lots of amenities - utensils, plates, cups etc. TVs in common area and bedroom, and sink separate from toilet and shower which is nice. The location is great too, right by the mall/Miller Hill area.
The complimentary breakfast was super good! Roasted potatoes/hashbrowns, eggs with different fixings, amazing waffles with whipped cream, choco chips, caramel, berries, syrup, walnuts and several other toppings! Definitely the most selection and best food I've had for breakfast at a hotel.
Pool, hot tub, etc were great too.
Looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajtbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us!

I think it's safe to say that your review of our hotel was, well....AWESOME. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the design and amenities offered by our hotel. We're also glad that you appreciate our location and it's proximity to the mall, as that is sometimes overlooked. We're excited that you plan on staying with us again and we hope that your next stay will be even better than the first!

Again, thank you so much for your review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Took my daughter here with her friends to celebrate her birthday. I booked the two room suite which provided a lot of room for the girls. The fully stock kitchenette was beautiful, easy to use appliances, even an ice maker! The pool is large, clean, and poolside has lots of chairs in which to relax. The hot tub was nice too, but as usual, lots of chemicals. Enough poolside towels for everyone. This hotel is beautiful and well done. Clean lines, excellent decor, and spacious. Our room too, was very clean. Nice to see ceramic tub and nice Kohler fixtures in the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious!! An array of foods to choose from, sausage and gravy, herbed potatoes, eggs, make your own waffles, yogurt, juices, and hot cereal. The girls were all able to find something delicious and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Corner room, away from elevator is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We love when families choose the Residence Inn to celebrate special occasions. We love it even more when they share their positive experience with us and other travelers. We're glad that our hotel could host you, your daughter, and her friends; and we hope that your great experience will eventually bring you back to enjoy more memories at our property. Happy Belated Birthday to your daughter and thank you, again, for the great review!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I rate this hotel very high. The rooms are huge with breakfast nook, desk, lounge/ sitting area, kind size bed, separate sink and tub & john. There is a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, small burners & toaster. The hotel has a pool and gym. Internet access is free.
The large flat screen TV swivels 360 degrees so it can be viewed from any location.
I really like to décor. It is somewhat contemporary and very classy. They often have a social hour in the evening and breakfast is provided in the morning. Staff are super friendly.
The hotel is within a short distance of a number of restaurants and a shopping center. Being a Residence Inn it is geared for long term stays but accommodates one night guests.
I really liked this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us! You're thorough analysis of our hotel's features and amenities will undoubtedly aid future travelers in making their hotel accommodations in Duluth. Again, thank you for your great review and we hope that you will stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great customer service, excellent room (with a kitchen and seperate living room), scrumptuous breakfast (one of the better continental breakfasts we've had), and in a nice location (althought not downtown Duluth).

We visit Duluth about once a year, so we'll certainly continue to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review,Christi!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Duluth. We want to thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel and those remarks certainly go a long way in empowering our staff to provide the best guest experience possible.

Again, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, very clean. I have stayed here multiple times and always feel welcomed!! Highly recommend this consistent Marriott product. Great location when in the Twin Ports area. The pool area is also clean and inviting.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Denise!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us--and continually choose Marriott when you visit Duluth. We love having the opportunity to build relationships with repeat customers like yourself, and it also allows us to obtain a better understanding for what our guests value most.

Again, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay! The two bedroom suite was well appointed for my senior mother, husband and myself. Lots of privacy with the kitchen and living room between the two bedrooms. Great to have two full baths. The hotel was quiet, clean, and we enjoyed the modern decor. Something for everyone with the breakfast. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jods1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us--and that the room dimensions worked well for your stay. Your review will indeed be beneficial to others looking for a hotel in Duluth.

Again, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing