We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be a great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel was modern, clean, comfortable, spacious and well-lit with helpful staff and a nice pool.

While pricier than many in the area, it can be a great deal for a family, particularly on nights when both dinner and breakfast are provided (check before booking).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nextportofcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate that you have recognized the value that we offer our guests. We love that we're able to provide guests with features and amenities that are not found in many hotels. We do this for guests like yourself that value these amenities. They are things that make many of our guests stays memorable ones.

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean. Hotel staff were very nice and polite and helped us out as tour guides directing us to great restaurants and bars. Thought the hotel was overpriced though for the location

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pallu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad that you enjoyed our stay with us.

We love it when guests laud our efforts as "tour guides". We are very familiar with the city and love to provide guests with recommendations of local attractions and eateries. We strongly encourage any guest to stop by the front desk and get a rundown of everything Duluth has to offer!

Thank you again for your kind review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice,clean,spacious rooms. Excellent staff and great breakfast options. Just minutes away from area attractions...easy to find. Top notch hotel! Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review--we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We very much appreciate it when guests take time out of their day to share their positive experience with others. It goes a long way in helping others choose to stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth.

Thank you again, and we are very excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

In you do not mind the 5-10 minute drive to Canal Park, this hotel is definitely a winner. Why I like this establishment:

1. Seamless check-in/check-out process. We were able to check in 3 hours before the official time (4pm). Which was very much appreciated.
2. Although the hotel was not in the Canal Park, it is close to Cub Foods, Target, and other stores. If you're staying in a suite (which should have a kitchen, oven, microwave), you can save a few $ by making your own meals.
3. Breakfast was great. A lot of choices (egg muffins, sausages, ham, eggs, cereals, oatmeal, fruits, waffles, yogurts, parfaits, juices, tea and coffee). The morning staff was very attentive: tables were cleaned all the time, and they kept bringing out fresh food during prime time.
4. Social hours (between 6pm and 7:30pm) arrangement was a nice touch. Soup, salad, and desserts were prepared for the hotel guests.
5. The hotel has a pool (depth between 3-5 feet), exercise room (new and nice equipment), a half-basketball court and an outdoor patio area equipped with a grill.

Above all, the following observation truly sets this establishment apart from the others. When I was at the lobby during the social hours, a couple was checking in but they didn't have a credit card to complete the process. The front desk person simply made a call (assuming to her supervisor), asked a few questions and helped out the couple. Throughout that process, she was polite, courteous, and professional.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we appreciate the time and consideration that you put in to writing such a kind review.

At times our location away from canal park can be a negative for guests because they want to be "close to the lake". Our philosophy is that we are away from the crowdedness of canal park, yet we're still just a short drive away if you would like to tour the area. We're also in the vicinity of shopping, restaurants, and the Duluth International Airport. We LOVE that you recognize and understand how we set ourselves apart from other hotels in Duluth, and we can't wait until you visit again!

Thank you again for the AWESOME review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our room was very attractive and well equipped including TV sleep button and effective black out blinds. We left very early and the 'breakfast lady' made every effort to provide packaging for us to take food with us. Excellent welcome by receptionist.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate your time and consideration reviewing our property, and we look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Residence is set apart from the others. It is a few years old and is not designed the same as a a typical Residence. The room furnishings were excellent - that tells me that it is really time for the majority of Residence's to remodel. The breakfast area was very nice, with high tops, long table, booths and standard tables. There were also a few large screened tv's. The breakfast itself was fine, equal or slightly below a typical Residence. The patio area was superb. There is an outdoor fire pit and very nice outdoor furniture. The pool water was warm. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were fine. It is located by the mall and there are some nice restaurants near by. If you are willing to stay off of Canal Park, this is a great find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

It truly is a great honor to be called "The Best Residence Inn". We greatly value the opinion of all of our guests and we are very happy to hear that you are pleased with your decision to choose our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This relatively new Inn is sparkling clean, with modern attractive décor, and huge beautifully furnished one bedroom or studio suites with full kitchens. We stayed one night in a corner King one-bedroom suite with a fireplace and the second night in a King studio and both were fantastic. The price for the room was extremely reasonable and the hot breakfast offerings the next day were delicious and of good quality: French toast, scrambled eggs, sausage and breakfast potatoes. There was also fresh fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, make your own waffles, muffins and bagels, and just about everything else you could think of to eat for breakfast. There was even a lovely outdoor area with a fire pit. Very cozy! Duluth is a great place to stay if you are making a day trip "Up North" to the Lake Superior attractions, and this hotel was located in a convenient area--close to major highways and shopping and yet quiet. Service at the hotel was friendly and welcoming, and we hade a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and it was very quiet, so I recommend that floor if you want to be furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernandez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate guests like yourself that recognize the design and customer service efforts of our hotel. Although we are proud of our physical property and the amenities that we offer, we are even more thankful for the great guests that walk through our doors. It makes our jobs so much more enjoyable and empowers our employees to work even harder to make our guests stays memorable.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
552 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Duluth North, MN
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $129 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing