We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Easy to find, each room is a suite very well appointed. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, friendly staff. Even a complimentary bag of popcorn in the room for use in your microwave. Would be fantastic for long stays, we only were in Duluth for a couple of nights but it was wonderful. The breakfast was varied and there are "social" nights a couple of evenings a week where appetizers are made available to guests. Location is also good, being close to some excellent shopping areas and lots of restaurants. We have decided to make this property our home away from home when travelling to Duluth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaliB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We LOVE that you said: "We have decided to make this property our home away from home when traveling to Duluth."

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
71
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay was just great. The rooms, halls and all other areas are very clean. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the gal at the front desk. I had forgotten my charger for my cell phone, so I asked if she would happen to have a charger for a Samsung cell phone. She went in the back and looked and found one that I used for the night. Breakfast was everything that you could want, with the only minor complaint that the coffee was not hot. Highly recommend this as a great place to stay in Duluth, MN.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakerfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We pride ourselves on providing the very best guest experience possible, and the little things like borrowing our guests a phone charger for the night are included in that. Our staff members aim to do anything in their power to fulfill our guests needs, as our guests are truly the most important factor in our business.

We are so happy that our staff was able to accommodate you, and we look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel was nothing but Great! The staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms very clean and comfortable beds. The pool area was well kept and neat. I look forward to returning to this property my next time in Duluth especially since it is so close to the mall.

Room Tip: I was not reading the above - there is no resteraunt or room service but a really nice well taken ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmom309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Although there are some guests that would prefer the hotel to be closer to Canal Park, we believe that we are in a prime position centrally located between downtown Duluth, the Miller Hill Mall, and the Duluth International Airport. We are happy that you are a fan of our location too!

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'm a frequent business traveler and spent the month of November 2012 in Duluth.
This hotel is brand new, with sparkling decor and spotless upkeep.
My suite was better appointed -- and less expensive -- than a furnished apartment. I did NOT want to leave !
Room rates include 7 full breakfasts and 4 evening meals.
The staff is professional and friendly, and even helped me pack my car in the snow at checkout !!
The location is in the main suburban shopping district, with a big grocery chain store across the parking lot, and only minutes from downtown Duluth.
When I travel to Duluth in the future, I will definitely, eagerly, look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a gas fireplace for those colllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllld Minnesota nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequent_biz_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

As an extended stay property, the concept of our hotel is to provide guests the design and amenities of a modern home. It can be difficult for guests to be away from home for an extended period of time so we understand the importance of providing amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening social buffets to ease that transition. We are so happy that you enjoyed these amenities.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this property in April 2013. We happened to arrive the day after Duluth received over a foot of snow. My only complaint was that they could have done a bit better with snow and ice removal from walkways and the parking areas. However, I do realize that they got quite a lot of snow in a short period of time, so it's forgivable.
The staff was very nice and the breakfast was above average. They had fruits, nuts and chocolate chips to mix in with the waffle batter, which was a nice touch.
Although we didn't use it, I was really impressed with their guest laundry area. It's just off the pool with a window where you can see the pool. It would be so convenient to do laundry and be able to watch your kids in the pool at the same time.
The outside of the building is very unique and appealing. The pool area had balls and toys in it for the children, which I've never seen in a hotel before. Our suite was very nice and very clean. It had a large TV on a swivel stand so you could watch it from the couch or the bed. We were in room 411, which was fairly close to the elevator, but we didn't hear it once.
In all, I'd say this is one of the best properties we've ever stayed at and one I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go2theZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We understand that the design and layout of the hotel is something that is very important to our guests so we are very glad to hear that you are impressed with our efforts. Unfortunately, the weather in Duluth is not the most forgiving and we do have large amounts of snow at times. We thank you for expressing your concern over the snow removal, it's something that we recognize and will continue to do our best to clear as quickly as possible.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantorville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a very clean and well-kept hotel, the staff is friendly and accommodating, the facilities (particularly the pool and fitness areas) are outstanding, the complimentary breakfast was better than most, and the location was great for all of the things we wanted to do in Duluth.

Whenever we travel to Duluth we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Bill,

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are very proud and privileged to have such a great staff, thank you for recognizing their efforts. We also are privileged to have such great guests stay with us, and your comment signifies that.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is very clean with a very modern design. The rooms are well designed and comfortable.The pool water was very clear and clean and the water temperature was good for working out. The breakfast area is well designed and offered a very nice variety of breakfast foods.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Barb,

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our vision was to provide our guests with the design and amenities of a modern home, so we appreciate the fact that you recognized our efforts.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
490 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
2.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing