We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best, most friendliest, accommodating hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best, most friendliest, accommodating hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband is working in Duluth, and will be staying at this hotel for 8 months. They are doing everything possible to make it a great time and as comfortable as possible. The rooms are great, the beds really really comfortable. The staff is the best I have ever encountered, just really nice people who want to make your stay enjoyable and stress free.

Room Tip: If you have a dog you might want to have a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divot6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    48
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
63
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

New hotel, helpful staff, quiet, large rooms, decent breakfast food equal a great stay! I travel a great deal on business but this trip was with the family and I would highly recommend this property for either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been a Marriott Platinum Premier member for eight years and have stayed in A LOT of different Residence Inn’s throughout the Country. No one does it better than this! I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for an extended period of time, the Manager Erin and her staff are dedicated to providing the best guest service possible. Everyone is outgoing, friendly and has a genuine caring attitude that you don’t often find these days. They go out of their way to make it your home away from home. The guest rooms are clean & comfortable and the couch has a unique open ended “chaise type” design is perfect for stretching out and relaxing after a long day. The hotel is very quiet, and the mattresses are comfortably firm all providing for a restful night’s sleep. Add in the full complimentary breakfast each morning with an evening meal three nights a week and the value can’t be beat. This is a beautiful, impeccably well-kept hotel. If you are looking for lodging in the Duluth area, look no further than this Residence Inn you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don_RicardoIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

New version of the Residence Inn and Marriott did an awesome job with this one. Great service, and spectacular rooms!! They even have a new feature at night -- like a happy hour for their guests. Well done Marriott!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel. Convenient - We had a one bedroom unit and there were no cooking utensils in the kitchen area. We were told they don't put them in all the units. Thought that a little strange but they did try to help us out. Very competent and friendly staff. Will stay there again especially if we are staying more than one night and want to do some of our own cooking.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no room service. Accidentally hit the button and can't remove the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My family (two adults, one teenager) stayed in a one-bedroom suite for one work-week night in August. I was a little surprised by the rate (north of $200), but I think Duluth was hopping that week. It's true that the hotel is not in the main tourist area, but Duluth is so small, that's not a significant issue. As noted by many, breakfast was plentiful, but the food very corporate (don't expect homemade muffins-- it's a Marriott). The hotel is new with modern furnishings. The only weird thing-- no sheets or blankets for the hideaway bed. The front desk sent up a blanket it scrounged up. Not sure what was up with that-- maybe the room hadn't yet been stocked?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m3grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel must be fairly new because it is very modern, the rooms are clean, and the staff were very helpful. The location is just out of downtown, but not too far from the waterfront. Just watch for deer running through and near the parking lot across the main road. I saw a lot of deer during my two night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello Shawn_MI,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit with us. The joys of living in Northern Minnesota is the wildlife! That's great you were able to experience the true nature of our area by seeing the deer in our parking lot. Thanks for sharing that with us.

Looking forward to your next visit with us--

We appreciate you,

Erin Maruska
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing