We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minnneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with kids”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hotel was new and clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast and included dinner was good. We loved having the bedroom, living room and kitchen. It allowed us to keep bedtimes and have an enjoyable trip. We cooked several nights and ate at the hotel sponsored dinner for one. We'll never go back to the traditional style hotel room after this! It makes family travel so easy. We are sold on the Residence Inn!

Room Tip: If traveling with children, get a one or two bedroom. It is so relaxing to put them to bed and stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gargamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello Gargamil,

Wow! It sounds like your family took full advantage of all the complimentary amenities that we have available here at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth. That's exactly what we like to hear! It's amazing what the extra space in our rooms can do for a traveling family. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you again very soon!

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    52
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
70
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel was the best ever. My small group of fishing buddies stayed at this hotel for the second time on our way to Canada and they never fail to disappoint. The staff is well trained and is very friendly. They seem to really care about their jobs and want the guests to enjoy their stay to the fullest. The entire hotel is immaculate and the guest rooms in particular have everything one could possibly need. We had the pleasure of meeting the general manager and it is clear that she truly cares about the guests' experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi Nick C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us here at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth. Happy to hear that you and your buddies enjoyed our amenities and particularly our wonderful staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff, it will be sure to make their day!

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel seems new and is immaculate and stylish. Rooms are large and very comfortable. One of the best guest laundries ever - lots of washers and dryers. Staff was knowledgeable and helpful. Location is a limitless out of town. At first we were a little concerned about distance from downtown and the Lake, but it truly was a short drive to Canal Park and easy to get to the scenic North Shore drive. Would be very good for families. Very nice fire pit and barbecue area outdoors as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnturnturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello turnturnturn,

Thank you for taking time to review your visit with us here at the Residence Inn-Duluth! We are so glad that our location ended up working out great for you.

Please do visit us again the next time you are in Duluth--

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at, bar none. The property was immaculate, all staff were very friendly and attentive. The extended stay suite was beautiful, very comfortable, and spotless. If there is one small complaint, it's that the pool water felt slimy. I'm sure the chemicals needed to be balanced, that's all. Check in and out were smooth, lots of food and shopping options within a five minute drive. 24 hour cub grocery beside hotel.

If you have the opportunity to book at this residence inn, or any other.... do it. You will not be dissappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorth68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello upnorth68,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. First off, we apologize for the pool issue that you experienced during your stay. We do monitor our pool chemical level on a daily basis and will continue to pay close attention to them moving forward. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and location of the Residence Inn-Duluth and that our staff provided you with a memorable experience.

We look forward to your next visit!

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, never having stayed at a Residence Inn before, and although it was not right near or in Canal Park, the property was a 5 minute drive away from there and the price was great. AND we could bring our dog. The facility is beautiful! The staff is wonderful, friendly, helpful, everyone greeted us whenever we ran into one of the staff. The fitness room is nice and cool so you don't melt while working out, they even have complimentary ear phones if you forgot yours (so you can plug into the TVs mounted to the equipment). The laundry room and pool are also great, although we didn't use either. The patio has nice seating areas, a grill to use if you wish, and a gas firepit for evenings. The breakfast is wonderful - anything you can think of from oatmeal to scrambled eggs and sausage to bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. The rooms are spotless and very nice, the bed was one of the most comfy I've ever slept in, and our dog felt right at home in the room. Whenever we visit Duluth again in the future, we won't stay anywhere else BUT Residence Inn! HIGHLY recommend!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the facility are quieter from street noise, although we didn't hear any str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello D K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Duluth and most importantly had a memorable experience at our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit to Duluth!

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My elderly parents stayed here for about 3 months while we were grappling with my mom's medical issues. (She needed to be near the SMDC hospital since they live hours away in nowheres-ville.) I can't say enough about how well they were treated by the staff!! Really, above and beyond. The rooms are clean and the facility is relatively new. My dad really appreciated the complimentary food they offer in the evenings. Again, the staff was incredibly accommodating with my folks, as they needed a little extra attention. They treated my parents like family. In the end, they made my parents so comfortable in tough times that we struggled to convince them to go home. No lie. If I could give this place 10 stars I would.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello vplow,

Thank you very much for the kindest review. In response, you and your folks are officially part of the Residence Inn-Duluth family and we welcome you to stop by and catch up anytime that you are in the Duluth area. It was our complete pleasure to be of assistance to your family during a stressful time.

We look forward to seeing you all very soon--

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here on business multiple times. Staff truly is some of the friendliest and most helpful people I've encountered. The hot breakfast and free dinner Tues, Weds, and thurs is a plus as well. Really nice workout room, pool, laundry (free laundry supplies), and hot tub. Rooms are very clean and the very friendly cleaning staff does a remarkable job with service and performance. Small kitchens are well equipped. Grocery store, mall, and restaurants are close, but far enough away so you do not have to deal with bad traffic or noise. As a person who travels for a living, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duztb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi duztb,

Wow! Thank you for the great review of our hotel accomodations and more importantly the kind words about our hard working staff here at the Residence Inn-Duluth. We are so glad that you had a memorable stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

We appreciate you,

Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing