We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean & Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Duluth
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
“Clean & Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in Duluth for a great get away! Walked into our studio suite room and we were surprised at how great it was. The kitchen area was great for making a homeade meal, and the bed was ridiculously comfortable! If I ever need a hotel in Duluth again, it will definitely be this one!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai_F7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Hello Kai_F7,

We hope to see you during your next visit to Duluth--Thank you for your great review on your recent stay with us!

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    48
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
66
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom studio with our 6 year old daughter Friday and Saturday night. The room was perfect for us - modern and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and they always greeted you with a smile. This hotel has a nice breakfast each morning; which includes hot and cold items. The location was near the mall and many good restaurants. We are planning on staying here again for our next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear dirtgnome,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking time to write a review for the travel community to see.

We pride our hotel on our great staff and customer service so I will be sure to share with the team your positive words.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon--

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights Sat/Sun and the hotel even though booked never seemed packed full, although summer does draw a lot of people to the Canal Park area during the day. Being a mom with 2 small children I appreciate a well kept hotel and up to date clean rooms. I usually don't walk around bare foot in hotel rooms, but the floors seemed clean enough to do so I didn't worry about my child touching something dirty. We booked a king studio with our 22 mo old last minute and it had plenty of room for him to play and we could watch TV after he fell asleep in the sitting area being the TV could be turned to face the bed or living room. I didn't think the hotel was loud at all, never heard any kids running up and down the halls (besides my own) Heard footsteps above a few times but never kept us up. I have stayed in many hotels in Duluth in all areas, Canal Park is nice for the location but the price is to high on summer weekends and hard to find rooms with the ameneties Residence Inn has in each room. I was very surprised by the variety of breakfast items and it actually felt like a meal and not a snack. The staff was very friendly and we were always greeted with a smile and our housekeeper was super friendly always asking us what we had planned and talked to our son which was pretty cute. My only small complaint was the pool drains didn't seem to be working great, lots of pooled water even when no one had been swimming for a while. Kind of dangerous for small kids who always run, even adults I almost slipped when I was going from the hot tub to the pool. All in all this is a great hotel for Duluth, isn't super cheap but you get what you pay for and in this case it is plenty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clausen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Hello clausen4,

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review of our hotel. We appreciate when guests take time to share their positive experience, along with any negatives that happen to come along during their stay.

Summer in Duluth is beautiful whether you stay by the water or up on the hill, it only takes a few minutes to get to any attraction and it's great that you were able to capitalize on them while you were here.

Looking forward to your next stay with us--

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

After a week of staying with family for our daughters wedding we decided to take the long way home via the Lake Superior Circle Tour (stateside). We were going to stay in Lutsen for a round of golf and because of the poor condition of Hotels that we had stayed at in Duluth before. I decided to check tripadvisor just in case. I read the reviews for here and the weather called for alot of rain so I wouldn't be golfing in Lutsen. Where we ever surprised when we checked in. This is a new hotel with all the modern convienences and decor. Upon check in the young lady was very helpful and indicated they were having a social with barbequed burgers. Our room was perfect!! Nice sitting area with a large HD tv that swiveled with ease from the couch viewing to the bed viewing. The kitchen area had everything you could need with very nice appliances. The king sized bed was very comfortable. Excellent value, Great service. We will definetly stay here again as long as the rates don't go up from the good reviews they are getting :>)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Hello JoeD50,

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review of our hotel. Because we are a new hotel, it really excites us to hear feedback from guests (especially positive feedback) to help keep us on track with our customer service and other internal functions.

It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our many great amenities such as the outdoor evening BBQ reception and the defined living spaces within the room. Great!

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here for several nights in December 2010 and had a fantastic time. Our trip was with 4 families and we had 2 of the 2 room suites reserved. However, due to a major snowstorm and previous guests being stranded there, they could only provide us with 1 2 room suite and made up for the other one in the form of 2 seperate 1 bedroom suites...this worked out great-more space for the same cost. The facility is gorgeous...seems brand new...the staff is great, the breakfast is great. We are Elite members with Marriott from our frequent stays and this hotel was one of the best of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WITravelers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Hello WITravelers33,

Well, it looks like you officially had a taste of Northern Minnesota winters during your stay with us in December--I'm happy to hear that even though we had a lot of people "snowed in", we were still able to accommodate your family and friends comfortably at our hotel.

Thank you for taking time to share your story with us and we look forward to your next visit--hopefully we will have some better weather for you!

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were on a sightseeing trip and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn.
A light meal was offered Tues and Wed nights. A nice breakfast was served every morning. The hotel is less than a year old and is close to restaurants and a nice mall. Beautiful room with a lot of granite, stainless applances. We were in a 1-BR which had connecting doors to the living room and bathroom area.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Hello rsfred,

Thank you for spending a few days with us as you came through town last week! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to the next time you are in our neck of the woods again!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your sightseeing tour---

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a GREAT hotel, with all the perks of home!!! love the decor, the staff was great, and breakfast was amazing!!! We will for sure be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karma1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Hi Karma1314,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about the Residence Inn-Duluth. We appreciate all of our guests who share their experiences with us, and I am so glad that you had such a positive one!

Looking forward to your next stay with us---

Regards,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Duluth

Property: Residence Inn Duluth
Address: 517 W Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811-5447
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing