We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointed...expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valentini's Vicino Lago

Valentini's Vicino Lago
1400 London Rd, Ste 100, Duluth, MN 55805-2458
218-728-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed...expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had checked out the menu of Valentini's online & thought it sounded like an Italian restaurant that we would really like---NOT the 'Olive Garden' variety---but, sadly, it was the 'Olive Garden' variety, which I know many people really enjoy and I'm glad they do. I would have appreciated someone clarifying this for me since that would have been a 'game changer' for us and we would have gone elsewhere.
Very average menu, few 'healthier' options, little (if any) fish...disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For a unique breakfast experience this is the place to go. Tasty food from an unusual menu with plenty of atmosphere. Dine outside; inside by the windows overlooking the lake; or near the fireplace during inclement weather.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fairlady43018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“super helpful staff and yummy dinner to take home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were looking for an easy dinner to take and eat at home for 8 people, and Valentini's was it! The server at the order counter had really helpful suggestions, including telling us how we could create and request a vegetarian pasta everyone enjoyed. Their Italian salad was also yummy and very pretty with multicolored veggies. While we waited for them to prep our food, we ordered espressos and she gave them to us with excellent oatmeal cookies on the side. Really a great option for tasty takeout, and outstanding service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hwagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Valentini's is one of our favorite "date night" destinations. It has a nice location near the Rose Garden on London Road, and you can eat outside if you wish. The food is always fantastic, whether you're eating steak or pasta, and the service is usually good. Interestingly -- and admittedly irrelevant to the quality of food or service-- I've noticed a trend with some of the female servers, which is to throw your seemingly uncombed hair into a pile on top of your head, which may be the standard for 20-somethings but in my humble opinion seems a bit unkempt and should probably be reserved for the checkers wearing their jammies at WalMart. :) Also, stay away on prom night or graduation because it will be packed. Overall, though, a couple's must try restaurant in Duluth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bergmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went for breakfast at Valentinis in Duluth yesterday and our food was amazing. Husband had their Breakfast Bruschetta with the apricot preserves & it he couldn't stop raving about it. I had the pancakes with apples on the side & they were probably the best pancakes I've had. Cooked perfectly and the flavor was outstanding (I love my pancakes). This is by far our favorite breakfast place in Duluth & the only problem is they don't have breakfast on Sundays so we couldn't go back this morning! The atmosphere is top notch & the view is spectacular. Service was great as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valentini's Vicino Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing