We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gardenwood Resort and Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Duluth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
17
11
7
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
11
7
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shoreon demandfire pitcabinlake
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 44 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a great location, and what lovely property, dotted with tall pines, right across from Lake Superior. But the cabin we stayed in--No. 11--was like an abandoned house. It smelled moldy and mildwey. The knob fell off the bathroom door. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it so that we could sleep. The carpeting was filthy. The wallpaper was water stained and dirt. We are not picky people, but this place was beyond the pale. We had paid in advance for two nights but left after the first night to stay somewhere else.

I think it was telling that on a July evening we were the ONLY people there. All up and down the Shore, places were full. But we were the only ones staying at the Gardenwood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaurieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We rented a cabin for 3 nights while we were in town to run Grandma's Marathon. The cabin was perfect complete with a nice kitchen, bathroom, table/chairs, and a comfortable bed. Additionally, we found the hospitality provided by the owners to be outstanding. They even held a BBQ after the race to celebrate the day. If you enjoy a comfortable cabin, bon fires, views of Lake Superior, and great hospitality then the Gardenwood Resort may be what you are looking for in Duluth.

Room Tip: We had cabin #10 which had its own fire ring and enough privacy to give us some space. The only catch was the dirt road leading up to the cabin which was rather muddy after the rains of June. 2012 was a record breaking year for the month of June in terms of precipitation so I don't imagine this will be a problem under normal circumstances.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The gardenwood was a nice place to get away, there were families there and couples and everyone seemed to be there for the same reason a decent place to stay for a decent price with that north shore "woodsy" feeling. The cabins are cozy a little dated, but it really didn't matter to us because we weren't looking for fancy....

The owners were awesome and very friendly, the community fire pit was a nice place to hang out and you can't beat the location.

We can't wait to go back! If you want fancy, this isn't your place if you want fun, cozy, and quaint than this is for you. We loved it here and can't say enough about the good times we had!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherzinminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here back in October. The place has a nice location and the owners are also very nice people. The cabins are old and are not very well kept. There was a hole in our ceiling, mold in places, furniture was out of date, took a while to get warm water, etc. Also I am 6 foot and an inch, I had to duck down in the bathroom so I wouldn't hit fixtures. It's a very nice place if the cabins were nicer... if you need a place to stay for a night as just yourself or a couple, I'd stay here, but not for more then a night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was a terrible place to stay . Cabin #5 was so small you couldn't turn around in it and the 13" TV left alot to be desired. Room was dirty and had alot of flies, will tell all my co workers at 3M this is not the pace to stay, way over priced for this cabin. Way to take advantage of your customers

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews