We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Cozy Mom & Pop Facility”
Review of Allyndale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allyndale Motel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Free from the shackles of being forced to conform to some sort of corporate identity, this hotel has established itself as a clean, cozy mom & pop place. This place has molded an image of something straight out of an Americana Road Trip coffee table book, from the neon lights outlining the signs and gutters of the hotel to the old school carpet and vintage bathroom tile. Don't get me wrong; some may see this as "outdated," but that is not the case at all as this look appears to be very deliberate, and everything is remarkably clean.

The location is in a primarily residential area, pretty far south of town. There is really nothing else around, so be prepared to drive a few blocks for food, or else order a pizza. The property is set at the end of a street, with a surprising amount of greenspace (even a bbq grill). There are a couple buildings with plenty of parking.

Our room was immediately next door to the lobby. It was smallish, but very clean. It had a fridge and a microwave, with a mounted television. We used the wifi, which was great. The bedding wasn't the typical hotel bedding, but rather had floral patterns that you would find in a b&b. As stated before, the bathroom had vintage tile. It was very small, and had only a stand up shower, but it was perfectly fine for a one night stay.

In the morning, the breakfast was the typical cereal and bread getup; however, there was a crockpot for biscuits and gravy.

Overall, we had a great stay, and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2010

I stayed at the Allyndale for a week from out of state while house hunting in the area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Considering the price, I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, comfortable and quiet the room was. One reason we chose this motel was because it is pet friendly. We did not experience any disruptive pets and the grounds were well maintained. The motel is in a nice location for a walk with your pet! I will stay here again and recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My wife and I came to Duluth for the weekend on a buisiness related stay. We planned on staying at a large chain with a pool and the works, but we did'nt plan ahead so had to make other arrangements. The hotel we were planning to stay at had no rooms available, but said they highly recommend the Allyndale Motel. We arrived at the Allyndale to register and met a friendly young woman who gave us a couple of different options. We spent less than half the price of the big chain hotels, and we were not disturbed by any ruccus and slept soundly. The rooms seem to be updated well for the price, and we have never been in a cleaner hotel anywhere. The surroundings are very peaceful and the room was cozy, comfortable, and well put together. We will go there again when we go to duluth.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

It was not all bad there. My bro and his wife his friend and wife and i stayed here. not to bad. we road bike up from Rochester,MN and had fun. got a good amount of sleep. pretty clean and the folks were friendly. cool water fall in the woods too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uncle_Neener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

not clean, bed was un-made and bathroom had urine in the toilet! Very noisy as well, lots of dogs barking. Seems nice, but not once stayed. Its not that close to downtown as well. Overall not a great experience. When we complained about the room the management was kind of ho-hum about changing the room and we ended up with a smaller room than we paid for. When we complained and asked for a partial refund or price reduction they said they couldn't do anything about the price. I find it hard to believe a room w. two beds and a kitchen is the same price as a single room with no kitchen and one bed (not even king!). I was very unhappy with my stay and would not recommend to anyone. Not worth the money!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank traveler0682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
4.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
364 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#20 of 31 in Duluth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807-1171
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: $93 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, peaceful, 5 acre nature setting. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators microwaves, coffee makers and FREE wireless internet. Winter plug-ins. BBQ/Picnic Area. Kitchenettes, Family and Extended Stay Suites available. Large Parking Area for trailers. Continental style breakfast. All rooms Nonsmoking --- Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park,(8), Spirit Mountain,(4), Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown,(9). Lake Superior walking trail and "Keenes" Creek boarder property. On snowmobile trail connecting to Minnesota and Canadian trails. ________________________________________________________________________________________ The Allyndale Motel includes rooms with: Single queen beds, Doubles, (two queen beds), Single kitchenettes, Double kitchenettes and Family Suites, (queen bed, full bed, twin bed and some have pull out sofa too) and a full size eat in kitchen. Reservation desk is open from 7:00 am till 10:00 pm daily. Cancellations: 24 advance notice, (special events require 3 days. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing