We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay”
Review of Allyndale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allyndale Motel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well I probably would not stay for a whole week but for a night or 2 I will go back. This place is Great. Very clean hotel (even when they allow pets) a little out dated decor, but that is why you are paying under $100.00. only noise I heard was when we first got there. People were talking some where by the window. Other than that I didn't hear the next room. Was so happy to have a hot shower in the morning and not having to worry if everyone else had used it all up.The staff is very helpful and nice. Location is perfect off the beaten path but not too far from anything in Duluth.Great acesss to 35 to get back to the cities. A Holiday Station near by so you can buy snacks or refreshments for the mini fridge. If you like a firm bed you'll be in love ( just it would have been a King since I liked it but not the hubby) so he tossed and turned and kept bumping me. I LOVED that I was there on Sunday morning since ONLY on this day for the contenential breakfast includes biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were wonderful not too dry or crumbly. Over all I am not going to check this motel off my list when I need a place to stay to see the fall leaves.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Allyndale Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been staying here for about 15 years every time we come to Duluth. Very quiet and very clean. Only a few minutes to downtown and the convention center. The owners are so accommodating. The motel sits on 5 quiet acres with a little creek to the side and is a very easy access off the freeway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a cute little family owned hotel. It was clean and quiet and we had a nice stay here. There was a free continental breakfast and the woman that owns the place was super sweet. It is a good, inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Allyndale is our regular go-to motel in Duluth. The current construction in the area on Hwy 35 (which may actually be finished by now) made getting to them a bit of a challenge. (the Cody Ave exit off N-bound 35 and entrance to S-bound 35 were both closed when we visited a week ago.) The hotel provides very clean, comfortable rooms -- it would have been nice if the thermostat in our room had been turned above 60 degrees after we stopped to get the key in the morning. We returned about 10 pm and it took quite a while for the room to warm up. We left early without taking advantage of the breakfast which is put out at 7 am, but I did notice that there was biscuits and gravy as well as individually packaged sweet rolls,coffee, fresh fruit, etc. It looked very good. Check in -- very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNfemrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I"ve been staying at the Allyndale for over 10 years now. I get personal treatment, its homey as homey can be, they let me BBQ outside, I can bring my pet, the grounds are beautiful, they care for my concerns and the price is always reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EarthAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

It was our only choice in Duluth because the other hotels were full. We actually had to remove giant weeds to get into the room. The 2 room suite, was a dungeon style basement apartment, the floors were soaking wet, we were told it was because of the rain! We had to wear our shoes to bed. The only window in a 2 room suite was fogged over because the water vapor had nowhere to escape. We went to Target to get candles to mask the smell, they at least worked. It was clean but a complete disaster otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artshowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Free from the shackles of being forced to conform to some sort of corporate identity, this hotel has established itself as a clean, cozy mom & pop place. This place has molded an image of something straight out of an Americana Road Trip coffee table book, from the neon lights outlining the signs and gutters of the hotel to the old school carpet and vintage bathroom tile. Don't get me wrong; some may see this as "outdated," but that is not the case at all as this look appears to be very deliberate, and everything is remarkably clean.

The location is in a primarily residential area, pretty far south of town. There is really nothing else around, so be prepared to drive a few blocks for food, or else order a pizza. The property is set at the end of a street, with a surprising amount of greenspace (even a bbq grill). There are a couple buildings with plenty of parking.

Our room was immediately next door to the lobby. It was smallish, but very clean. It had a fridge and a microwave, with a mounted television. We used the wifi, which was great. The bedding wasn't the typical hotel bedding, but rather had floral patterns that you would find in a b&b. As stated before, the bathroom had vintage tile. It was very small, and had only a stand up shower, but it was perfectly fine for a one night stay.

In the morning, the breakfast was the typical cereal and bread getup; however, there was a crockpot for biscuits and gravy.

Overall, we had a great stay, and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
4.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
358 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#19 of 31 in Duluth
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807-1171
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, peaceful, 5 acre nature setting. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators microwaves, coffee makers and FREE wireless internet. Winter plug-ins. BBQ/Picnic Area. Kitchenettes, Family and Extended Stay Suites available. Large Parking Area for trailers. Continental style breakfast. All rooms Nonsmoking --- Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park,(8), Spirit Mountain,(4), Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown,(9). Lake Superior walking trail and "Keenes" Creek boarder property. On snowmobile trail connecting to Minnesota and Canadian trails. ________________________________________________________________________________________ The Allyndale Motel includes rooms with: Single queen beds, Doubles, (two queen beds), Single kitchenettes, Double kitchenettes and Family Suites, (queen bed, full bed, twin bed and some have pull out sofa too) and a full size eat in kitchen. Reservation desk is open from 7:00 am till 10:00 pm daily. Cancellations: 24 advance notice, (special events require 3 days. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing