We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, nicely decorated room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Superior Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Superior Inn
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, nicely decorated room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Cape Superior Inn reminded us of a European Hotel. The room was small as was the bathroom and shower (shower head too low for a taller person). Our room was decorated very nicely, not the standard hotel decorations. The room was clean and comfortable. Check in was friendly and efficient and our request for extra pillows was handled courteously. The rooms have outside entranced and exterior stairs. There is no air and no cable or satellite tv. This hotel is about 12 miles from downtown Duluth but has the advantage of having a very nice view of Lake Superior across the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisure_Traveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! Some of the rooms do have satellite TV, but not all, and I'm working to rectify this. I hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Badger, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a quiet clean place to stay. The view of Lake Superior was awesome. The manager was a great guy. The room was very clean. We sat outside our room on two different nights and watched the ships come into the harbor. The resturant next door had wonderful food. The bottle shop was great. We had a pickup and a large trailer that they made sure we had a place to park out of the way. If we are in the area again we will be sure to make reservations here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks Trish! I'm glad you had a great time! We're always trying to improve and keep you coming back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just a wonderful inn. The view of Lake Superior from the second story deck is beautiful, the manager is friendly and helpful, the room is cozy and homey with extra touches that shows the inn is cared for, nicest liquor store I've ever been in, and a great bar/restaurant next door. All the staff made you feel like you were a friend of theirs. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much! I know that you could stay anywhere on the north shore. I strive to keep the rooms spotless and the grounds clean, and our people happy and grateful that you are here. Hope you stop in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Came up with the family from the twin cities. The view from your room of Lake Superior is incredible. There is a really nice liquor store attached to the motel. And a great bar and restaurant next door. Room was clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for your review! We do have a "million-dollar" view here. Thanks for staying and come again! :D

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A little leary at first sight but very impressed with the hospitality of this Inn. Great view of lake superior from my window. Super clean room and very reasonably priced. Homey feel to the whole place. After 400 miles of travel it was so nice to be greeted with such kindness and attentiveness. if you travel along the lake shore this is THE place to stay! I will definately be back to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! The motel could use a bit of sprucing up on the outside, but I'm glad you decided to stop in and give us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

this place is a real dump plane and simple. it looks like they built the place with the cheapest material that they could swindle from a scrap yard. the furniture looks like it was picked up off the side of the road in the bad part of town. everything obvious went to the lowest bidder if you get my drift.

Room Tip: if it comes down to cape superior inn being the only place availible i would consider pitching a ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chad p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Actually, I'm not exactly sure I understand. If you could be more specific in you critique, it would be helpful to us to rectify any problems you had. Please let us know, and I hope you come to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cape Superior Inn and were suprised by its recent updates, great customer service, and the new liquor store on site! The restaurant next door is under new ownership and has fabulous food.
We chose the Cape Superior Inn because we wanted to get away from the busy city-life of Canal Park, and serene North Shore life. Also, we had our boat with and were happily suprised that they had ample room for it. The Cape Superior Inn is our new spot on the North Shore, and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cape Superior Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We try to improve as much as we can by listening to genuine critiques from our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
14.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
16.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
14.8 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
11.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Superior Inn

Property: Cape Superior Inn
Address: 5133 North Shore Scenic Dr, Duluth, MN 55804
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cape Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing