We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Museum and FREE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center

Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center
Ranked #7 of 93 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This maritime museum details the Great Lakes' history and the part they played in the shipping industry.
Iowa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Museum and FREE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are not many museums these days that are free, but this one is! We learned so much about many types of boats, about boats that sank, how important these vessels are to the economy, the weather in the Great Lakes, as well as wonderful information about the Great Lakes and Lake Superior. I thought I knew about shipping on the Great Lakes, but I know SO much more now! You will not regret the time spent visiting this museum!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    121
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Free and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not many museums are free these days, but this one is and contains tons of interesting information about the Great Lakes. We only had about 45 minutes before having to meet some friends for lunch and we could have used some more time to do this place justice. Now I understand lot more about shipping on the lakes, shipwrecks, the lake ecosystem, and lots more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some friends told us about this museum, and we rushed to get there before they closed for the evening. It turned out, they were open a bit later than we expected on that Sunday. This is a FREE museum with all kinds of information about the Great Lakes, in particular, Lake Superior. There were engine room and bunk room replicas, information about the various freighters, and a great Edmund Fitzgerald display. Since we only had the one night, and also wanted to visit another attraction before closing, we didn't get to spend as much time here as we could have. It is well worth your time to come here, and it's right next to the lift bridge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“A must do in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I must be honest and admit that we only visited here as the atrocious weather prevented us from doing other things.

It was a good decision though and I'm still astonished that there is no charge for this.

In addition to the many fascinating exhibits there is a documentary running which follows several cargo ships coming in and out of the port to load/unload.

The staff on hand were extremely knowledgeable and welcomed questions.

A great way to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved it, went here 3 times in 5 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It has so much history and cool maritime related displays! My son really enjoyed hearing the ship captains talking to the Aerial Lift bridge attendant as the ships got closer and closer to the canal! Just a real neat place to go and it is FREE! They could charge and we would go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whodat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing