We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
Ranked #9 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Kids and adults will enjoy a tour of this boat. I do believe it is made into a haunted house in October. You really get a feel of what it would be like to be a shipman working on this boat. Awesome

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    108
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Neat Boat, Bad Guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's really cool to explore this old ship, but the tour guides can be very hit or miss. Went once and had a great tour, the second time it was difficult to listen to the guide who was quite annoying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Get a taste of olden days shipping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

THis is a tour for people who are mobile. Because it was a working ship, there are major accessibility issues such as climbing tall ladders. For those of you who are fit and able, don't miss an opportunity to see the inside workings of the old lakers and th cabins for the captain and his guests!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaPineknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haunted boat tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A great way to spend 30 minutes for $10! This tour is definately not for young children or for those who scare easily. The actors were great - full of energy and having a good time making noise and scaring people. The fun started even before we got to the front of the line to purchase tickets. Even though I saw the costumed characters in the line, they still managed to make me jump. There are definately some areas that are pitch black, and I was really happy that I wore flat shoes. The stairs are typical boat stairs, much like metal grating, that are designed to drain any water (full of holes that any size of heel can get lodged in). If you are in Duluth around Hallowe'en, be sure to take in the tour...it's alot of fun, and a good lead in to a great dinner in the area!
ps...definately not an "accessible" or handicapped friendly attraction

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cn307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Haunted Ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A staple in Duluth! We had a blast on the haunted ship Saturday night. $9 per admission with a donated can food per ticket. What a great deal to get scared out of your mind and you get to see the ship as well. The volunteers are great, well, most of them. There were a bunch of kids that looked like they should have been in bed and they didn't do much to scare you. You could tell who the actors from UMD were because they really did a great job. The tour of haunts last about 30 minutes and you go all throughout the ship. The line outside is a little bit of a wait so dress warm. They won't touch you but they will get as close as possible without touching you and they talk to you. I think it's pretty scary and it's unique to be on a haunted ship!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing