We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“From the Past” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
Ranked #9 of 93 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“From the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Again, if you have the time this is a ncie visit - again unique to the Great Lakes. If you have the time visit the whale back in Superior across from the Paterson hoyuse/Museum in Superior. Bot ships provide a wonderful history of Great Lakes shipping, especially in bringing iron ore to the city of Duluth and farther east to the steel mills of Pitsburgh, etc. So, in two stops, the last the Irving - you have a history of Great Lakes shipping from the last of the whale backs that revolutionize the transport of bulk itesm on the lakes to the Irving which was replaced in the 1970s by the larger one thousand foot steamers. Steamers like the SS Gott replaced four smaller sized Irving class ore transporters. All the vessels like the Irving were decommissioned or sold off - many cut up in the Frazier shipyards in Superior.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    114
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent and Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a very entertaining and informative tour of a Great Lakes Freighter. The boat itself was a flagship and a showpiece of its time, and therefore has rather interesting features. The boat is in excellent condition. Our tour guide, a former sailer who sailed for the company that ran this boat, was incredibly personable and entertained our group with informative facts about sailing and lively accounts of first-hand experiences. This was one of the best tours of its type that we have taken. Highly recommended for anyone interested in history, American manufacturing and industry and the maritime arts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“October haunted ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

went to tour the Irwin on oct 20th for the haunted ship. definitely not for small children or people with walking disabilities but we had a blast. if you like zombies who jump out at you in pitch dark rooms....and then politely direct you, it was fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Take A Tour on the Irwin Ore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our group looked forward to this tour as we planned our vacation. It was well worth the planning and cost of the tour! Our tour guide was "Brian" who has experience on these types of vessels and provided a tremendous amount of information regarding this particular ship and personal experiences. We saw everything but the cavities which held the ore - something we specifically wanted to see. Unfortunately, they were preparing these areas for the halloween season. The cabins were beautiful - wonderful tour - glad we went and well worth the $10 per person we spent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A tour needs more exciting items on show, as is it is quite boring, for adults and for the grown up kids. It is also overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing