We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October haunted ship”

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
Ranked #9 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
MN
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“October haunted ship”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

went to tour the Irwin on oct 20th for the haunted ship. definitely not for small children or people with walking disabilities but we had a blast. if you like zombies who jump out at you in pitch dark rooms....and then politely direct you, it was fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    123
    17
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Take A Tour on the Irwin Ore”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our group looked forward to this tour as we planned our vacation. It was well worth the planning and cost of the tour! Our tour guide was "Brian" who has experience on these types of vessels and provided a tremendous amount of information regarding this particular ship and personal experiences. We saw everything but the cavities which held the ore - something we specifically wanted to see. Unfortunately, they were preparing these areas for the halloween season. The cabins were beautiful - wonderful tour - glad we went and well worth the $10 per person we spent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty boring”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A tour needs more exciting items on show, as is it is quite boring, for adults and for the grown up kids. It is also overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ship”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's really fun to get a taste of what life aboard an ore boat is like. Quite amazing in every corner -- well worth the price of admission.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NashRambler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool big ship to go inside”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I like big ships and this 600'+ was huge to get a tour of. The guide was very good. He worked on a very similar ship so it was great to hear from a guy that worked on one. This ship was deluxe in 1930 and it was fun to see the life back then. Worth an hour to tour it!

Helpful?
Thank 47201traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing