We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful park, especially during fall color season!”

Enger Park and Tower
Ranked #5 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“beautiful park, especially during fall color season!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We climbed the tower (which is free) and spent some time roaming around last fall. It was so beautiful with all of the fall colors out. The view of the Duluth Harbor from the top of the tower is amazing! My kids thought it was pretty neat! Great place for an afternoon picnic.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank mngirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    147
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor,OH
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely Skyline Drive”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Don't rush through Duluth without taking the Skyline Drive above the city. Awesome views of the city can be had from numerous pullouts along the drive. As a lighthouse enthusiast,I was impressed by the fact that here is the only place on the great lakes where you can see 3 distinct types of lights (skeletal,conical and square/integral) all within a few hundred yards of each other. On the Skyline drive, look for the Ariel Lift Bridge and you will see the 3 lighthouses. If you have time, take in the Duluth waterfront. Watch the frieghter traffic, the Ariel Lift bridge operate, the lovely parks and numerous restraunts nearby.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank AppliKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking. Take it in.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

When we checked into our hotel in Duluth, I asked the front desk clerk something he would recommend we do not miss outside of the main Canal Park or family amusement places. Right away he mentioned Enger Tower and quickly printed off directions.

The place is hard to find if you do not have directions, however, the directions we were given made finding it the simplest thing ever. The history of this park and tower makes it even more of a great spot that everyone must see. An immigrant from Norway donates most of his property to the city he loves and that helped him become successful, under the condition that it be used as a park with a tower for tourists and residents alike to enjoy the beauty Duluth has to offer. It was such a generous donation and gift that even the Prince and Princess of Norway came over to dedicate it.

The tower itself is a small climb, 5 steep stories all the way to the top with openings on each story, all the way around for all sorts of different views. You can see every angle of Duluth, and on a clear day, they say your visibility is 35 miles in each direction. Below the tower lies a Japanese Garden with picnic areas, public restrooms, and adjacent to that, a 27-hole golf course. In the gardens is also a Peace Bell from Duluth's sister city. You can even ring the bell.

Honestly, I was really impressed with this attraction. It was not overly advertised and, if you didn't have specific directions on how to get there, it was not marked the best, but I think that added to the beauty. It was not over-run or crowded which made it beautiful and peaceful, letting you enjoy it completely.

We went up the tower in the morning and got to see everything on a sunny day. We found out that earlier this year they recently did some renovations that installed some lighting and such on the tower for night viewing and to add to the attraction. Unfortunately, we ran out of time to get back up there to see that.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank alysheeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So - So”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I read a few reviews on here and thought we give it a shot. I was a little disappointed in the park. I thought it was kind of cool and a nice view. But getting to the park was not easy, not really good road signs, GPS had a hard time finding it as well.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the city...”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had a wonderful lunch in this park (tables & grills available) enjoyed thousands of perennials and daffodils and took some great pictures of the city, lift bridge and St. Louis Bay.

Be sure to check out the 5 story tower (80 foot high) constructed of natural Blue Stone (Enger Tower).

A Japanese garden including a pavilion and a peace bell from Duluth's sister city in Isumi-O’Hara, Japan, be sure to ring the peace bell whilie you are there...

It was a little confusing finding the park. There really wasn't any signs pointing the way and some of the roads leading up to the park were full of potholes.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank crzymallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enger Park and Tower also viewed

 

Been to Enger Park and Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing