We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique drive”
Review of Skyline Parkway

Ranked #19 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Superior Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unique drive”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Be sure you take your camera. There are several places where you can stop and get incredible pictures of the area. I like to get on the parkway at the visitors center at exit 249 off of I-35 south bound. This allows you to drive south to north. My husband and I have driven the parkway during the summer and fall so far. Each is different and unique. There are several sections that go through neighborhoods, cross major roads, and goes around UMD, so a map is needed. You can get a map at the visiting center, but it is pretty rudimentary. I haven't found the perfect map yet, even online, but if you have multiple maps you will do alright. Drove around Hawks Ridge in October and there was a section blocked off for taking pictures of the birds (still able to drive through though.) A lot of parks and various places to park and have a picnic too.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    55
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, WI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Winding and pretty”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Follow this road for spectacular views of the lake, the city and oh, yes, Hawk Ridge!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Northpith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Sight Seeing Tour in Duluth”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Awesome views of the lake. It starts southwest of Duluth at Spirit Mountain ends at Seven Bridges Road Northeast of Duluth. Check out Hawk Ridge Bird Observatory is a must see!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RoadJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The views make this dirve well worth the effort. Unlike other reviews, we found the signage very good and many parts of the road appear to have been recently reconstructed. We picked up a Skyline Parkway Map which made it very simple to find from Canel Park. The views are breathtaking. Make sure to stop at Enger Park.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Calhounr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice overlooks of the lake and city, but poorly marked and bad roads”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Make sure you have a good map of Duluth before you set out on this scenic drive. We attempted it 3 times during our last trip, to no avail, we never got completely through it all! This year, we came prepared! With our map in hand we made it! The road is poorly paved, with several potholes, during certain times of the year, sections are closed. There are several places to pull off, good photo opportunities, and several small waterfalls at the start of the drive. Worth it if you are looking for something cheap to do.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Parkway also viewed

 

Been to Skyline Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing