We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing ..... beautiful spaces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“relaxing ..... beautiful spaces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I loved staying at the Olcott House! The Haven suite was gorgeous and comfortable. The porch adjacent to the room was perfect for reading. The owners were very inviting and had great recommendations for various restaurants near the shore of Lake Superior. I highly recommend the Olcott!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mplsbeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed for two nights last week and absolutely loved this place. Owners David and Jerry are extremely nice/helpful and treat you like family. Beautiful home and architecture. Wine/cheese in the evenings and great breakfast in morning. The best B&B experience I've had...by far. Would definitely stay again and recommend this place to anyone traveling to Duluth. Hotels are just as pricey and cannot offer this environment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelguru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our recent stay at the Olcott House was just perfection. We traveled from Philadelphia, where we reside. This "house", really a mansion, is like those on the Main Line in Philadelphia, or other mansions along the Hudson in New York. It is hauntingly gorgeous! The Olcott is so well-preserved, my husband and our two grown children and I felt like we actually stepped back in time. We stayed in 3 suites: The Lester River suite, The East Wing suite, and the Olcott suite. The rooms are all furnished lavishly with antiques and original art. The beds and linens are all first class, and there are fresh flowers in the suites. The orientals on the floors in the library and the dining rooms must be worth a fortune - very old. The owners, David and Jerry, are friendly with the tour manager at the Glensheen Mansion, and I have been there before, but I have to say this house (older than Glensheen) is just as well-preserved. It is impeccably clean, the food is excellent, and even my daughter, a vegan, had much to choose from. I'd read an article that David and Jerry lived in New York City and LA a long time, and their care in restoration and maintenance and decorating shows much sophistication from their past experiences. Jerry is from the Duluth area originally, but both hosts were savvy concierges. They assisted us in finding a tour of a fascinating underground mine, tipped us off to a "hidden" Jamaican restaurant, and told us exactly when the huge ships would come into the canal. Jerry even advised us who to talk to at the antique shops he frequents (good deals compared to East Coast pricing.) We travel as a family to London, Spain, and other European countries regularly, and still this historic inn will head the list as a classy and favorite place to stay. It is the real McCoy of a beautifully-preserved mansion, and we thoroughly recommend the Olcott for an unparalleled experience of relaxation and luxury. It is a singularly unique and special place, that offers impeccable service and yet lots of privacy as the rooms are enormous (at least all 3 we stayed in - we were also able to view the Carriage Suite, which is much like a large apartment.) One suggestion: perhaps they could serve red wine in addition to to the white, which is served with the complimentary refreshments. But as we sat on the huge outdoor veranda (think Grand Hotel, Mackinac Island) and the breeze and views were so relaxing, we could have spent the whole day on that veranda without any appetizers. We were at the Olcott for 4 days and it still wasn't enough time for my family. We will definitely be back again, and hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My soon-to-be wife and I stayed here over a long weekend last October, and I can't recommend it enough! We reserved the Carriage House suite, which was like having our own little cottage for the weekend. The breakfasts were fantastic, and the owners made us feel more like house-guests than lodgers. The house is a standout in an already beautiful neighborhood, and is near enough to the highway that we could get anywhere in Duluth (or head up the North Shore) in just a couple of minutes.

The only downside to our trip was that we were about a week late to see the fall colors, or take in some of the seasonal attractions - but that's definitely no fault of the Olcott House!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rma1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The owners of the Olcott have done a great job staying true to the character of the home. The interior decor and furnishings will make you feel like you've stepped back in time and are guests of the Olcott's themselves. David was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this grand old place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macie017
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Our stay was absolutely perfect. The house was gorgeous, the room was beautiful (we stayed in the east wing room). It was in a great location, very romantic. The innkeeper is VERY knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great restaurant recommendations. The room got pretty cold at night, so I would suggest to bring an extra sweatshirt. We were in town for a romantic trip, and the Olcott house exceeded our expectations. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwstocker39
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

this was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. We didn't know what we had been missing.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwstocker39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.5 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2316 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing