We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay here on a recent overnight in Duluth. We drove up at night to the stately mansion that was lit up and snow-covered. We have often seen these types of homes from the outside, but have never had the opportunity to stay in one. The decor was very tasteful (not overly frilly) and we enjoyed a suite with a sitting room complete with fireplace, and an adjoining bedroom with king-sized poster bed and bathroom with vintage fixtures. Our host was friendly and gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion for dinner. In the morning we were treated to a tasty breakfast of a yogurt parfait, waffle and sausage. We greatly enjoyed the other couple we had breakfast with, and we lingered for 2 hours of conversation with them.

Our only negative as that there was no channel directory for the satellite TV in the bedroom (at least we couldn't find it). It would be a nice addition to add that to the rooms. If you have always wanted to stay in an elegant mansion, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Olcott in July on our first trip to Duluth and the Northshore. The inn is incredibly beautiful and well kept. Our innkeeper was super friendly and greeted us, offered tips, and even just hung around to chat. The breakfasts were great and there was plenty of options for sitting. We got to meet fellow innkeepers who helped us plan our trip. The B&B is a drive from Canal Park, but it is well worth it and the drive is easy. This is a great destination to see the Northshore. 35 runs right down the hill right to the highway to the Northshore. We picked Duluth off a map as part of our trip to every state in the Union and we could not have been more pleased (and we're Michiganders so we grew up on the Great Lakes)! I hope we can return some day to this beautiful city on Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Our room comprised three separate rooms and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themaskedman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cissna Park, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a great stay on our last of 7 days in Minnesota. Accommodations, service, staff - all top notch. Had great weather for August and found it very relaxing to read for a couple of hours on cool front porch. They provide evening wine and snacks. They have an interesting selection of books and also several daily newspapers. We had a fine meal in the morning that got us ready for a long trip back to Illinois.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The B&B is quiet and peaceful. The grounds still retain their elegance and the whole B&B calls you to sit and relax. Meals are wonderful. The inn is clean and in good repair. Dave and Jerry share their home with care and planning. You are welcomed with wine and cheese upon arrival. Coffee greets you at 8am sharp.

Room Tip: No clear view of Lake Superior but close to Leif Erickson park. Wonderful views of the neighborhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was lucky to get time away from work and very excited to book another stay at my favorite place to stay.
I love being at the Olcott House when I am visiting friends in Duluth!
As an avid local history buff I was impressed with the Owner's knowledge of the Duluth area and their suggestions about what to see along the north shore.
The architecture of house is beautiful and the rooms are really cozy!
I hope to stay again when the leaves are changing colors!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mplsbeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Olcott House approximately two weeks after the flooding in Duluth. If we hadn't have heard about the flood from the news we would have never known there was one.

The Olcott House is a magnificent place to stay in Duluth. It is located in an area with many stately and historic homes and minutes away from anywhere you want to be. David is a very engaging host and attentive to your needs. He made us feel welcomed during our stay and the breakfast was simply delicious. He made great suggestions on restaurants and things to see and do.

From sitting on the porch reading the paper in the morning with a great cup of coffee, to visiting with David and other guests, to watching a movie (from their collection) at night, or to simply enjoy the elegant accomodations - we enthusiastically recommend the Olcott House for anyone looking for a unique and memorable experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for a two day living social package that I bought online. Beautiful house gives you the feeling of royalty. It's close to all the tourist spots. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was deliciouse!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.5 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2316 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing