We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Wow, what an experience! The innkeepers, David and Jerry, at the Olcott House were very friendly and welcoming into their B& B. We (my husband and I) visited on a typical Minnesota winter night, frigid and blustery. We warmed up in no time by the crackling, aromatic fire in the library. David offered a grand history of the house and answered every question we could think of. This mansion is truly spectacular! There was an elaborate offering of white wine and snacks upon our arrival.

Our room, the East Wing Suite was huge, but very comfortable. A cozy fireplace, comfortable chairs, and most importantly an inviting king size canopy bed with a fresh, firm mattress.

There was a charming and eclectic group of art work and antiques though out the mansion that my husband and I both enjoyed – we have very separate tastes. When we couldn’t decide on what to do with our evening - Jerry came to our rescue. As a newly returned local; he had a great knowledge of the area and its offerings.

Breakfast was elegant and scrumptious. David and Jerry are experienced chefs and gracious hosts. My husband felt he could see their New York and Los Angeles experience in their balance abilities as innkeepers – polished and service oriented, but unobtrusive – much appreciated as we needed some quiet from our children for two days.

We will be making this a seasonal tradition and cannot wait to return in the spring!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adventurous_mom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed at The Olcott House B&B in Fall of 2007. The mansion is in a nice area of Duluth, and is easy to find. The house itself is very majestic, with brick with white columns. Parking for guests is on the street.

We met one of the hosts after ringing the bell. He was not overly friendly, nor very welcoming. Seemed to be just “going through the motions”. By this I mean he didn’t spend time telling us about himself, nor asking any questions about why we were there.

We are used to more of a conversation to get to know one another a little. Part of the B&B charm. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and it didn’t make us feel very special when they didn’t care. We never saw the other host.

He gave us a quick overview of the mansion layout, told us of the local restaurants available, and took care of payment. The common areas of the mansion are very nice, and adorned with many antiques.

We rented The Carriage House Suite, which is across the driveway and very private. The host took us inside, and showed us around. It’s a large suite with many separate rooms: kitchenette, sitting room, bedroom, bathroom…all furnished with nice antiques. The suite is located on the second level of the Carriage House. (stairs)

The kitchenette overlooks the beautiful fountain and arbor below. It has a small dinette, microwave, sink and some dishes. There is a coffee maker, but you will need to bring your own coffee. There are some tea selections, as well as sweetener.
The sitting room was very comfortable, with an electric fireplace. We liked this room the best. It’s very cozy, warm, and inspiring. There are comfortable furnishings, and a window air conditioner if needed.
The bedroom and bath were very nice and comfortable. There is a whirlpool bath as well.
Overall, this old mansion and grounds are really nice!

Pluses:
Robes, Kitchenette, Extra Privacy.
Self Serve Wine & Cheese at check in...a nice touch.
Nice book in suite with the history of the mansion and info on the surrounding area.
The mansion is really nice, and furnished well.

Minuses:
Prefer more host interaction and a more welcoming personality.
No ground coffee offered in suite to use maker.
No soap in bathroom! (Hopefully an oversight!) Breakfast waitress not very friendly nor welcoming.
Coffee or water not served with meal. Self serve coffee ran dry during breakfast.
No explanation of checkout procedures. Not even asked how we liked our stay.
Should mow the lawn more often. Yard looks a little neglected.

Summary: A very nice mansion style B&B in the heart of the city. We really enjoyed our experience at this B&B. A more welcoming spirit and attention to detail from the hosts would make this a much more special place. Grade: House B+ ; Hosts C-.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDJollyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

It didn’t take the new owners of the Olcott House long to step up to the plate. We ventured to Duluth on the coldest night of the year, more than a little concerned as to how warm an old mansion may be on a blistery night. The Innkeeper graciously welcomed us at the door. We were ushered in to enjoy a crackling hot fire and a wonderful display of wine and cheeses, chocolate, and large variety of hot teas and drinks. Exquisitely restored, we found ourselves whisked to the era of the early 1900’s. Our eyes were treated to the architectural splendor and awe of a grand old mansion, and it was toasty warm throughout! Beautifully restored, and a rival to any we have seen in the Carolina’s. Our suite, impressive in size and décor, was even more inviting. The king size 4 poster canopy bed was as comfortable as it was beautiful, an adjoining large living room with fireplace to relax, and spacious bathroom. Huge, well lit and attractively decorated, we felt immediately as comfortable as our home, with more privacy than expected. Excited for breakfast, we opened our door to an unforgettable aroma, permeating up the grand ole staircase. We more than enjoyed a sumptuous gourmet breakfast that I could not finish. We won’t divulge any secrets, but trust us; it was truly a highlight of our stay. When visiting Duluth Minnesota, treat yourselves to this rare jewel. We give the Olcott House 5 stars!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DianeWaitePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

We just returned from a weekend stay at The Olcott House. It has new owners whom seem a bit inexperienced.

The House is beautiful and the furnishings are very comfortable. However we had difficulty sleeping through a significant amount of middle of the night noise from the owners suite. The noise continued until 2:00 in the morning.

In addition, breakfast was not what we expected from an elegant B&B. It included items such as burned frozen hash brown patties and blackened bacon. It was not even comparable to other B&B's that we have stayed at.

Overall, we enjoyed our suite, but were a little grumpy because of the lack of sleep and the fact that we were still hungry after breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank thinguy906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

We stayed over Easter weekend. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast was great. The house has lots of history and the owner's did a great job of renovating it without destroying it's charm. We highly reccommend the Olcott House. It's in a beautiful neighborhood, close to the lake and the downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjslatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2005

This was a fantastic place to stay. Just a few blocks from mighty Lake Superior, but perched on the hillside, relaxing from a 2nd floor suite and 4 poster bed with a view of the harbor and lift bridge was unforgettable! Large rooms!
Sharing a glass of wine, enjoying the fireplace! This place is romantic, charming, nostalgic, and has period charm..
The owners have put a lot of sweat equity into this place, and it has been restored to its grandest moment! My wife and I felt comfortable, relaxed, and well taken care of. This place is warm, cozy, and there is plenty to take in. The home is magnificent from the inside and out, especially during the Christmas season! The carriage house is pretty cool! The breakfast was delicious!
The rates were competitive.. Well worth the drive or flight!
We've stayed in at least a dozen b&b's and this one ranks near the top! Highly recommended!

2  Thank TTDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

The Olcott House's welcome warmed us up on a cool November evening. The view of Lake Superior and its sparkling harbor lights from our room was unexpected. All furnishings were comfortable and fresh.

On arrival we enjoyed sharing wine and cheese while relaxing in the gracious public areas. The guests were of all ages, and we all seemed to appreciate the wonderful restoration of the house. Our yummy breakfast was elegantly presented in the dining room and the conversation was lively. But, we were glad to have the choice between that and breakfast in bed.

The reason we chose this inn was because its rates were a bit lower than its competition. This inn doesn't offer whirlpool baths. Instead the Olcott offers warm hospitality and a beautiful house. From our perspective it is a carefully managed B and B which is both fun and romantic. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jschuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 31 in Duluth
357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2316 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range: $165 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing