We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing away from work.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Relaxing away from work.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was lucky to get time away from work and very excited to book another stay at my favorite place to stay.
I love being at the Olcott House when I am visiting friends in Duluth!
As an avid local history buff I was impressed with the Owner's knowledge of the Duluth area and their suggestions about what to see along the north shore.
The architecture of house is beautiful and the rooms are really cozy!
I hope to stay again when the leaves are changing colors!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mplsbeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
73
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Story City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Olcott House approximately two weeks after the flooding in Duluth. If we hadn't have heard about the flood from the news we would have never known there was one.

The Olcott House is a magnificent place to stay in Duluth. It is located in an area with many stately and historic homes and minutes away from anywhere you want to be. David is a very engaging host and attentive to your needs. He made us feel welcomed during our stay and the breakfast was simply delicious. He made great suggestions on restaurants and things to see and do.

From sitting on the porch reading the paper in the morning with a great cup of coffee, to visiting with David and other guests, to watching a movie (from their collection) at night, or to simply enjoy the elegant accomodations - we enthusiastically recommend the Olcott House for anyone looking for a unique and memorable experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for a two day living social package that I bought online. Beautiful house gives you the feeling of royalty. It's close to all the tourist spots. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was deliciouse!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Olcott House was an absolutely wonderful place to stay. It is in a beautiful area of Duluth with many older homes. The house itself is well maintained. The attention to detail was wonderful. I loved all the knick knacks and books that reflected Duluth's history.

We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite which was beautiful. It was nice to have the private balcony to drink our coffee on even on a chilly Duluth morning. The fireplace helped keep us cozy.

The afternoon wine and cheese was a great wind down from our busy day before heading to dinner. The place was so nice it was kind of hard to leave. Tons of games, DVDs and books to entertain us. It was just peaceful to hang at the B & B.

Breakfast was so delicious. The first morning we had a apple crisp yogurt parfait and an egg strata. The second was cream cheese stuffed french toast and ham. The dining room itself just gorgeous. Beautiful china and candlesticks on the tables,

David was a great host. He recommended many great restaurants in Duluth for dinners. He was very conscientious when it came to engaging with the guests but it was great to hear his and Jerry's story.

I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galsmiley1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We found our host to be very pleasant and engaging. We had visited about 5 years ago and found the same high standards. We were very pleasantly surprised when he remembered us! We'll return and well before another five years.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here for a break away from daily life (and kids!). We loved it here and will be back! The house is so beautiful and of all the B&B's we have stayed in, the owners took great care to put together a fantastic book explaining the history of the house and what each room was originally used for. It was clean, classy and the breakfasts/coffee was amazing! David and Jerry were so kind. David showed us the best places to go, eat etc. and we went to the New Scenic Cafe on his advice-it is now our favorite restaurant in the north! The library was my favorite (great DVD selection too) soothing classical music plays at all times highlighting the ambience of the house. The owners are doing a fantastic job and we missed being there as soon as we drove away! We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The Olcott room we stayed in was located on the main floor and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queen486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Olcott House for Valentine's Day. It was MARVELOUS! Our spacious room, The Olcott Suite, was romantic yet refined. The fabulous eggs benedict, our second course, were served with a side of the best hash browns I've ever tasted. The Olcott House is absolutely gorgeous - the owners have great taste. Simply stated, I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Duluth.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be very unique. Make sure to research which one fits your needs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLSchiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.8 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2316 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing