We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olcott House is amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Olcott House is amazing”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I frequently stay at Bed and Breakfasts around the country, but anytime we're remotely close to Duluth, it will be at the Olcott House. The house itself is historic and charming, but that is not the half of it. This is perhaps the most charming B&B we've stayed in, from the set-up of the rooms to the decor, and the house holds many historic photographs, pictures, and other memorabilia from the early twentieth century. There is a piano room, and music plays downstairs constantly. It is very peaceful. We found ourselves wanting to just hang around the Bed and Breakfast because there was so much to do there (read through the books, play games, watch the DVDs) and there was so much charm. But the real charm is in the hosts, David and Jerry, who are very attentive, conscientious, and helpful. They know the area and its attractions and restaurants very well, and really make you feel "at home" and welcome. At check-in time, there is wine and cheese, and there is always fresh water in the rooms.

A couple of bonuses: Breakfast is extraordinarily good. Another bonus is the people you find here. Each time we've been to the Olcott House, we've ended up meeting really interesting guests and having great conversations.

This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
73
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a wonderful mini-break in this lovely B&B. It's an impressive 1904 mansion lovingly decorated in period style, so sipping wine in the parlour or reading the paper in the breakfast room felt like stepping into another world. Our room (Olcott Room) was decked out in the same style, large, with a four-poster bed and settee. Slight concession to modernity apparent in lovely bathroom, (smallish) TV, DVD player and wifi (and can I just say that the DVD collection is pretty exceptional). David and Gerry are warm and hospitable without being intrusive, with great advice about places to eat out. Breakfast was excellent both days, and the wine and cheese in the evenings was a nice touch. On the whole a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: The Olcott Room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

World class accommodations and service. We were delighted to find this jewel of the Midwest where we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. A truly memorable experience with the finest eye for detail. Entertainment and recreation options abound no matter the season. David and Jerry are the consummate hosts. Be sure to add this Duluth experience to your bucket list.

Terry and John Egge

Room Tip: Every room is distinct, comfortable, private and well appointed. I should also mention that breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryEgge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I fond this beautiful place by recommendation and this was much more than promised!
The house is very clean for at least one reason, you have to take off your street shoes which is obviously effective.
We were invited for afternoon "tea" with wine, cheese and meat. What a pleasure after a long road trip!
We were provided with restaurant recommendations, things do do in Duluth, the history of the house, etc.
We stayed in a suite with fireplace, huge bathroom, dressroom and for sure a comfortable sleeping room. For entertainment you can use e.g. DVDs from a well equiped libary, play the piano or read about the interesting history of this place.
The address is in a very good neighborhood 5 minutes to dowtown.

Thanks to David for the hospitality, unfortunately we didn't meet Jerry. We are looking forward to our next stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detlef_Birgit_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

To begin with, the house is amazing. Mansion is the only word to use, and it's well appointed with antiques, decorations, and fine woodwork. There's wine in the evening, you can play the piano, the owners are friendly but not overbearing. They are quite willing to show you the house and talk about its history, but they also leave you alone. The breakfast was good, and the rooms have small touches like filtered water and mints. It is true that there is a routine: breakfast is a certain time, you take off your shoes when you come in, but those are not problems as long as you know it ahead of time. We recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Olcott Suite. Great deep bathtub, very nice overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeantToBe521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Olcott House in September at 2011 as part of a weekend getaway to Duluth. The house was beautiful and very well kept. The owners seem to relish in the homes history, as it has many photographs and artifacts that were those of the original owners. Also - each room had a book David and Jerry (the owners) had put together explaining the homes' history and how they eventually came to own it. They also put several thoughtful touches throughout each of the rooms and you can tell they enjoy antiquing and finding fun artifacts to tastefully decorate each of the rooms.

When we arrived, we were greeted by David who was very helpful in providing us recommendations of things to do and see while we were in Duluth. He also provided us terrific restaurant recommendations - none of which disappointed. We found David, Jerry, and their staff to be very hospitable.

As I would assume many folks traveling to a bed and breakfast would enjoy, was the ability and warm welcoming environment in which to talk and chat with other guests. Breakfast was served at 9am in the dining room with tables of 4, 6, and 2, so you could chat with other guests if you chose. (and by the way - the breakfast prepared was simply stupendous ... ) In addition, they put out wine, cheese, and meat around 5pm. We were delighted to enjoy this cocktail hour on the porch with 4 other people who were staying there. It was a great way to start our evening.

My husband and I very much look forward to staying at the Olcott House again and we will absolutely recommend it to our friends and family. We thank David and Jerry for helping make our anniversary celebration one we will remember.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rooms are great, host is fantastic, details are plentiful-everthing you need for a pleasant stay is provided. Historical features are wonderful.

Room Tip: any one you choose is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleman2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.8 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2316 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing