We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple luxury”
Review of The Ellery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ellery House
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
kunderwood01
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple luxury”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful Victorian home with friendly hosts greeted us after a week of camping. The luxurious bed and clawfoot tub were just what we needed after roughing it;) There was free use of their butler pantry that was stocked with tea, coffee and cappuccino. The breakfast was the highlight; stuffed French toast, bacon and beverages of our choice. We will absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravelerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice owner. Tasty breakfast. Tasty snacks. Comfy bed. Good location. The owner made everyone feel very welcome. Really enjoyed the sherry, port, tea, espresso machine, cookies and brownies. Very relaxing. My only complaint was that it was hard to get ouf of bed in the morning because the bed was so comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A must stay in Duluth! We loved the property, breakfast, room and hospitality. Duluth itself is worth a stop, a beautiful respite from the Twin Cities or on the way up the North Shore. And the Ellery House is the place to stay, no question.

Room Tip: Upstairs front is lovely with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil and Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I finished up a trip to the Duluth area with a one night stay at the Ellery house in Duluth. Our room was lovely and after I lugged my own feather pillows up to the room I felt a little silly because we had a total of 6 pillows already waiting for us on the bed. Our room also had a claw foot tub outfitted with a shower as well as an in room fridge, CD player with CD's, wine glasses on the dresser as well as a cork screw. There was NO TV which was actually a nice thing. We did have access to internet. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. It started out with a beautiful fruit plate arranged by our host. We also had a french toast bake, bacon and a variety of juices and other things to drink. Most importantly, the friendliness and helpfulness of our host was appreciated. Jim suggested a wonderful restaurant that was just right for the last night of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We were generally pleased with our stay at Ellery. We've stayed at many B&Bs in cities around the world, so for better or worse, our review of Ellery is colored by other B&Bs we've stayed in.
We liked the neighborhood, green & leafy, gently sloping up from the lake. We had no problems with street noise, but we're sound sleepers so may not be the best judge on this point. Our room was "Lilla", queen bed was high and comfortable with quality pillows and linen.  Claw foot tub with shower. Sink was in the bedroom which turned out to be convenient.  Pretty blue & white floral wallpaper, I felt like I was sleeping in a Delft teapot. AC & ceiling fan. Outside temp was mild, so we shut off the AC, opened the windows and used the ceiling fan all night. Very comfortable.
PLUSES:
*Jim is very friendly, giving us driving directions when we arrived, tips and instructions, served breakfast.
*Breakfast was delicious, baked French toast & bacon, baked ham & eggs, homemade strawberry rhubarb muffins, coffee & tea, and an artistically presented fruit plate that looked like a tropical bird (Jim's handiwork).
*Coffee, tea, espresso, latte service all day, nuts & chocolates, with cookies in the evening, plus fresh coffee service on the 2nd floor landing in the morning.
*Small vases of fresh flowers all over the house, it's the little touches that count.
MINUSES:
*The living and dining rooms are a little run down, feels more like a boarding house than a private home. 
*Garden, while green in the summer, could use some color and landscaping TLC.
*"Lilla" room lacks a closet. Not a problem for us as we travel with casual clothes only, but take note if you have more formal clothes that need hanging.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MakiWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Me and my gilrfriend stayed here a weekend in 2006. This is by far the most memorable lodging we have ever stayed in. The owners were very friendly, generous and showed great hospitality. We would definitly reccomend it to anyone going to Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marten247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ellery House Bed and Breakfast in Duluth. We stayed in the Thomas Wahl Room which has a beautiful view of Lake Superior from the seating area in the room’s bay window. During the summer, the lake wouldn’t be visible, but a beautiful canopy of trees would be lovely as well. The room’s corner fireplace is very romantic.

My husband has a herniated disc and he said the bed was perfect. The furniture throughout the B&B consists of beautiful antiques, all which coordinate beautifully with the natural woodwork in this architectural gem.

The breakfasts are unbelievably wonderful. I have probably stayed in 15 different B&Bs, and the breakfasts here were the best. The fresh fruit was wonderful quality, and beautifully presented. The egg dishes were fabulous, and the raspberry muffins with a light lemon glaze were outstanding.

The snacks and beverages provided here is a very nice feature. There is an espresso/latte machine which looked quite fun- too bad I don’t drink coffee. There was Port and Sherry wine, also hot water for tea, or chocolate. There are snacks as well--fabulous chocolate chip cookies that are made daily, also nuts and salty snack mix.

The hosts Jim and Joan were so helpful. I have gone to Duluth for years, and Jim pointed us to small restaurants with great food that I had never heard of. With the absence of snow for skiing, he gave us good ideas for other things to do. His charming conversation made us feel like we had been friends for years.

I highly recommend the Ellery House B&B

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmn1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.3 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
333 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellery House

Property: The Ellery House
Address: 28 S 21st Ave E, Duluth, MN 55812-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing