We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice bed and breakfast”

Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the ballroom suite located at the top of the house, which was much larger than we needed, but was just great. With the connecting bedroom and a living area in between the main and connecting bedrooms, it would be perfect for friends traveling together or even a family. It also had a nice view of Lake Superior, which we enjoyed a lot. The host was very entertaining. He had a vast knowledge of the local lore and made a very good breakfast a lot of fun as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful architecture and attentive hosts make this place a must stay when in Duluth. We recently rented the entire 3rd floor and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Oh, and the breakfast? Amazing. Our hosts were very informative about the history of the house and what makes it so special. If I'm ever in Duluth again, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scootrati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked to stay at the Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn as I much prefer B&Bs and the other reviews recommended it highly. We were not disappointed as we were made very welcome and the breakfasts were brilliant. The house is totally gorgeous, on a nice quiet street and we were able to park right outside on both nights of our stay.
We had travelled up to Duluth from the Twin Cities to see Michael Buble in concert. Having only visited Duluth for a few hours in the past, we decided to see more and stay for a weekend. I'm sure we'll go to stay in Duluth again and will not hesitate to book this lovely little inn all over again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wisa1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Mathew S. Burrows B&B is a very recommendable one. Spacious rooms, quiet neighborhood, interesting homemade breakfast. Mr. Fink is a very friendly host.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atalantaBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were out visiting family in the Twin Cities and decided to go see the color and what's going on in Duluth. We chose this Inn based on the reviews and reasonable prices. We stayed in the ballroom suite - it was literally the entire top floor of the house. You can easily sleep 6 people there with no effort. People have made comments about the wallpaper and paint peeling - it is so minimal that I couldn't believe they were mentioning it. Come on - it's an old house with boat loads of character. If you want stark/sterile/lacking any charm then I'm sure there's a chain hotel nearby that will gladly take your money. Breakfast was a treat - homemade stuffed french toast. The dinner recommendation to Bellisio's was AMAZING! I had the Shrimp & Asparagus risotto that was out of this world - creamy, flavorful and truly a memorable dinner. When we go back to Duluth - we are going to stay here without a doubt!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zerbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and her sister and our neice stayed here for 4 nights and I joined them for 2 nights after returning from a canoe trip to the Boundary Waters. It was nice to move into a luxourious house after 5 days in the wild areas near Canada. Art our host was very knowledgeble and made excellent breakfasts. All the guests at the dining room table provided good discussion. There were two honeymoon couples there during our stay. We stayed in the 3rd floor 2 bedroom suite. Our bedroom had a view of Duluth harbor from our bed. As advertised there were a number of porches and quiet areas to sit and read. Beautiful woodwork, it is definately a piece of Duluth's architectural history.

Room Tip: sorry didn't see the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We decided to spend a night in Duluth at the last minute and went searching for a b&b via the internet. We liked the photos we saw of the Mathew Burrows Inn and the prices were a little better than other equally attractive b&b's. I called to ask some questions about the showers, since they sounded a bit antique on the internet descriptions. Right away, the owner, Al, displayed to me over the phone a really relaxed and sincere attitude, answering my questions forthrightly. I would have liked to book the "Master Suite," which looked quite beautiful, but, indeed, its shower wasn't quite what I wanted. Instead, we booked the "Rose Room" for $95 per night ($105 with taxes, etc). This room had a great shower. But more important, it--and the whole rest of the inn--was beautifully styled in an 1890's fashion. The bed was really elegant. The Rose Room feels a little small because a corner of it is carved out for the shower and sink--this is done in an elegant fashion. The whole place looks just great, even though it is slightly worn out. (Base boards could use a paint job in the Rose Room.) Also, there are wonderful houseplants clustered everywhere. There is a lovely porch and small gravel parking lot which feels nothing like a typical motel lot. The inn is located in a pleasant neighborhood which is on the quiet side, although the inn is a block from the fairly busy Superior Street. Al greeted us upon arrival and very graciously showed us around. Included in the tour was the kitchen, where a space in the fridge was set aside for guests, and baked goodies are served every evening. Then Al patiently answered our questions about where to eat dinner and how to get there. Driving downtown from the inn was snap. Breakfast was delicious and served in the stylish dining room. My wife wants to especially praise the blueburry muffins. One thing to watch out for--the window AC in the Rose Room was quite noisy. Fortunately, we didn't need it after dinner because the evening was relatively cool. All and all, a terrific value for an elegant and cordial b&b experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopeforthefuture3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#12 of 31 in Duluth
351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
1.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn

Address: 1632 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1650
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range: $75 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing