We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitger's Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$247
$198
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
$100
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$165
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
240
92
26
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
92
26
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menuhistoric hotelaveda productssame complexconverted brewerythe complimentary valet parkingbook storeunder one rooflake walkcontinental breakfastbrew housedeluxe roommodern amenitiescoupon bookchain hotelsthe lower levelshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 374 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Absolutely beautiful and literally right on Lake Superior! There's no point in staying if you don't get a lakeside view so make sure to get on the water side. This place is more expensive than some others in Duluth, but well worth it for the views and one of a kind architecture of the hotel. MUST check out the Brewhouse in the same complex - the apricot wheat beer is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hans1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Hans1730,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay.

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. No one matters more to us than you; nothing's more important than providing you with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I also want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is so valuable to us. I will be happy to share your comments.

Hans1730, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Fitger's during the first part of our honeymoon. We decided to go all out and book a penthouse suite. We expected something pretty fabulous based on the price. The view was fantastic with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior. The room was just okay. It was large in size, but in serious need of revamping. It was supposed to have an "old fashioned" feel about it. Instead, it looked kind of old. The holes in the carpet, the worn out mattress and dreadfully uncomfortable furniture were not what we had in mind. At the price we paid, the continental breakfast was less than impressive. I guess we had expectations of something more than coffee, dry pastries and grocery store granola bars. I can say the staff was very friendly and quick to help us when we had a question or needed a pillow upgrade from the "pillow menu". Location-wise, this is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the business of Canal Park. It is just off of downtown with easy access to restaurants and shops. I don't believe we will be staying at Fitger's again because neither of us felt it offered the comfort and luxury we were seeking.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms require you (or the bellhop) to be able to carry luggage up a flight of stairs as there is no elevator access to that floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Hello Jaime J,

Thank you very much for recently staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay.

I am truly sorry you did not receive the high quality guest experience we are known for, and hope you will accept my apology for the disappointment.

We would really like to speak with you regarding your stay and concerns. Please contact Kurt or me at 1-888-348-4377 or via e-mail at fitgers@fitgers.com

I do want to let you know that we are currently working on an extensive hotel room renovation that will begin in late October 2014. We are working with a very accomplished interior designer, and are extremely excited to soon be offering our guests a fresh, new, “signature look”, from top to bottom,
that can only be best described as, “Industrial Chic”.

We were anticipating that this renovation would have been completed and unveiled this spring, but because everything associated with this renovation is custom, (the carpet, bedding, headboards, and all furniture), is has taken a lot longer than anticipated as we are dealing with lead times of 9 to 12 months on most items.

We look forward to regaining your trust and hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just returned home from staying at Fitgers Inn from June 16th to the 18th, & I have to say this is a wonderful hotel with a lot of class. The room I stayed in was king suite facing beautiful Lake Superior (room 301) it was nicely appointed & very well maintained. Hats off to the cleaning crew, it shows they really put a great deal of effort not only in the rooms, but the entire hotel. The hotel offers Aveda soaps shampoo conditioner, & mouth wash & that's another big plus. The beds are very comfortable, as they have a neat feature where you can choose your own pillow. They even have free valet parking.That is really cool. When I return to Duluth, I will be coming back to Fitgers Inn, as the staff makes sure the guests are very happy.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake, you will love it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear 63moose,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay.

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. No one matters more to us than you; nothing's more important than providing you with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I also want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is so valuable to us. I will be happy to share your comments.

63moose, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A very large room with a beautiful view of lake Superior. The breakfast was simple, but fine. We ate at the brewery next door which was good too. The staff appeared to be new and not well informed. But they were nice and seems to be trying.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear cjg2901,

I would like to personally thank you for staying at Fitger's Inn and as well as taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed you room, our view, and dining at the Fitger's Brewhouse.

I am wondering if you would be able to provide us more detail regarding the statement..."The staff appeared to be new and not well informed. But they were nice and seems to be trying."

Is this statement made regarding the Fitger's Brewhouse staff, or the hotel staff? Our hotel staff in normally very well informed, so I would really like to investigate this matter further. I can be reached at: fitgers@fitgers.com or by calling 218-722-8826.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you want some of the best views of the lake, look at staying here. If you want to pay about twice the price of other "nice" area hotels, stay here.
This is a place with a lot of history and we have stayed here on and off for the last five years if we are going for a great location not in the canal area of town and will not be spending a lot of time in the room.
The lobby area and rest of the business complex attached to the hotel is impressive with history and neat little spots like the Brewpub. The rooms tend to be much more basic with almost always some type of issue (heating/air conditioning, noise, bathroom water leaks, dresser drawers not closing, etc. Managment sells the fact of a three year renovation (updated rooms, new televisions, cable, etc.), but it was a basic renovation. Internet did not work during our recent stay. The air conditioning was on for an entire weekend, even during the overnight 50's. The desk could only be used if you were the size of a child and did not want to push a chair out.
The continental breakfast remains an issue with those that have stayed numerous times. For the price paid to stay at this inn, the breakfast is more basic than a Super 8 motel. Pastry selections are limited and is limite to cereal, bread and yogurt on the two mornings we attended.
Service can be abrupt, especially when asking about prices. Do not expect to be able to get ice without calling the front desk and waiting 20 minutes. Room servcei from their restaurant in the basement can take over an hour if it even shows up. One couple staying near us waited the hour before going to the nearly empty restaurant to inquire about their order.
Bottom line is that this hotel needs to get prices in line, improve service and really update the hotel to make this the only place people want to stay in Duluth. The newer hotels in the canal area will slowly take that business away.

Room Tip: Stay away from the city side and away from any lobby-close rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Hello Rod M,

Thank you very much for recently staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay.

I am truly sorry you did not receive the high quality guest experience we are known for, and hope you will accept my apology for the disappointment.

We would really like to speak with you regarding your stay and concerns. Please contact Kurt Anderson (Assistant Hotel Manager) or me at 1-888-348-4377 or via e-mail at fitgers@fitgers.com

I do want to let you know that we are currently working on an extensive hotel room renovation that will begin in late October 2014. We are working with a very accomplished interior designer, and are extremely excited to soon be offering our guests a fresh, new, “signature look”, from top to bottom,
that can only be best described as, “Industrial Chic”.

We were anticipating that this renovation would have been completed and unveiled this past spring, but because everything associated with this renovation is custom, (the carpet, bedding, headboards, and all furniture), is has taken a lot longer than anticipated as we are dealing with lead times of 9 to 12 months on most items.

We look forward to regaining your trust and hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews