We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveler rating
249
97
27
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
97
27
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel pillow menu aveda products same complex converted brewery free valet boathouse restaurant book store under one roof continental breakfast lake walk brew house deluxe room interesting shops modern amenities granola bars coupon book
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 390 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pros -
- large rooms - tall celings, up-to-date
- complimentary valet,
- complimentary shuttle - this was a lifesaver for us, drove us pretty much anywhere in Duluth. Reserve it ahead of time to be guaranteed, but we never had any problems using it spur of the moment.
- front desk service - very friendly and knowledgeable
- shopping - hours were a little odd. nothing was open Sunday when we left.
- location - adequate eating/shopping within walking distance of Fitgers

Cons -
- One of the valet/shuttle drivers was horribly rude and we unfortunately we were stuck with him several times.
- No ice, however, front desk will get yousome
- dark rooms
- Restaurants - Tried to eat at Mexican Lindo and couldn't even get menus, while we were there we heard others complaining about food quality so I think we got lucky. We did have a drink and one of their Queso's and it was good. Tried to get into the Brewhouse a couple of times but was always at least an hour wait. Ate breakfast at Midi - service was awful and the food was just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachluvr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Maybe it was pricey since it was tall ship weekend (we didn't know). Great location with nice shops. The building and rooms are older and historical looking. Other than not being pleased with an employee named Eric (he was rude and almost killed us on the shuttle van) everyone else was extremely helpful and we had a nice stay. Hopefully if we decide to stay at Fitger's it won't be during tall shop weekend and the room rate won't be so expensive. The brewery was really busy but it was a nice place to get a beer. The beer was good and inexpensive. We really enjoyed Midi Restaurant. Good food and great service. We will probably come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmlhigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spend alot of time in Duluth with family living there and have stayed at many nice hotels but Fitger's Inn moves up to the #1 spot. We spent 4 nights there and had an excellent experience. The number one priority for me - and most of us - is a clean room and my room was sparkling as well as incredibly beautiful and comfortable. Every staff person I met, from the front desk to housekeeping was so nice and helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was going well. Of course another huge benefit of staying at Fitger's is the proximity to the Lakewalk and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. You can leave your car parked the whole stay if you want - everything you need is within walking distance.

So Fitger's - thank you for an excellent stay. Can't wait to return for another visit!

Oh yeah - and LOVED the Tiki Bar!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joscaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. This is one of our favorite places to stay in the area. Book ahead of time because rooms fill fast on the weekends. This is our 5th or 6th time staying and will return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This old school hotel does everything right. The location is great, right off the Lake Walk path. There are three restaurants on site, as well a martini bar and night club. There are also several shops on site as well. The staff is very friendly and the free valet parking is great. The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. It is not a very large hotel, so there is not much walking to get from place to place. It is a short walk downtown from here and Canal Park is about half a mile away via the awesome Lake Walk. The views from the hotel are incredible. This is the perfect choice to stay if Duluth is your destination.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews