We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!”
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Schofield
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This old school hotel does everything right. The location is great, right off the Lake Walk path. There are three restaurants on site, as well a martini bar and night club. There are also several shops on site as well. The staff is very friendly and the free valet parking is great. The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. It is not a very large hotel, so there is not much walking to get from place to place. It is a short walk downtown from here and Canal Park is about half a mile away via the awesome Lake Walk. The views from the hotel are incredible. This is the perfect choice to stay if Duluth is your destination.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    85
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
179
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
prior lake mn
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed a number of times in Duluth at other properties and this old school hotel is one of our favorites. It has character with unique room layouts. Independent of the room layout, the beds are very comfortable, prompting my wife to start looking for a replacement for our bed at home. The lobby is old dark wood and has old school finishes including an old vault door and friendly and helpful staff. The complimentary breakfast is served in a cozy room overlooking the lake and if you time it right you can catch the sunrise over the lake. Wi-Fi was adequate for my needs.

The hotel is attached to a complex containing Fitgers brew house (a conveniently short stumble back to your room at the end of the night) and a number of other shops and restaurant options. If you want even more options, you can pick up the outdoor lake walk behind the hotel which will take you to Canal Park. More of a summer thing, a car would be better in the winter.

There is no pool so that might be a disappointment if you have kids but on the good side you won't be having to compete for space with kids teams at the continental breakfast or in the hallways/elevators.

Room Tip: If available and you don't mind spending a little more, spring for a lakeside room so you can ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Todd,

Thank you very much for your review of Fitger's Inn. We really do appreciate you staying with us and are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

I do want to let you know that we have a program in with Serta bed company where you can have a "Fitger's" bed delivered directly to your residence.

If you would like more information about this, or just information on our beds in general, feel free to contact me at: fitgers@fitgers.com

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cook, MN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Almost all rooms have a unique configuration in this boutique (60+ rooms) hotel. High ceilings and updating but keeping the historic look make it a great choice for Duluth. It is attached to a shopping/dining complex offering a number of eating choices including a brew pub and fine dining (The Midi) option.

My choice for Duluth. It is on the lakefront walk and about 1/2 mile from Canal Park.

Room Tip: Ask for lake front or if you want a deck it would be 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudlowsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I love to stay here! The rooms are so elegantly decorated, the staff is very friendly, and every room is different. The best part? The comfort of the beds!!! The bed are the best 'hotel' beds we have every slept on, borderline better than our own bed at home. This is our first choice when we need to stay in Duluth. We also love that we are so close to the brew house. :-)

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay lakeside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, MN
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just returned from our annual Duluth, Mn. Fitger's Inn visit. If you combine work stay's (1978-90), plus approximately 20 year's of recreational vacation "stays", I think we would agree there must be a reason for the continuing interest.

We enjoyed a very still and quiet weather scene for the 3 days, with minimal wind or weather distractions. The staff was on "top of their game" as always and the welcome "back or enjoy your visit" comments were prevalent. There are multiple food establishments within the enclosed mall area, plus you can sit out on the lake side, and take it all in. Fitger's is located on the primary route to the north shore drive and has a large enclosed parking area, with "no charge" for hotel residents.

Put it on your "wish list." It will be worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a "lake facing" room. You will have a great view of ship traffic, recreational peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our party of 7 stayed in two lake-side rooms in Fitger's and enjoyed watching the boats, a sailboat regatta, lots of foot traffic on the lake path below and the passenger train that comes through once a day. We walked to an English Pub for dinner, enjoyed ice cream next door before getting caught in the rain. Fitger's is a great place to stay, close to downtown walking. The rooms are clean, the kids had no problem sleeping on the hide-a-bed and roll-away in the room, there was so much space in the rooms. The place was so quiet and the staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was a bonus - grab a bite while watching the sun rise over the lake.

Room Tip: Don't forget to specify city-side or lake-side room. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCmomofabunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. Our rooms were gorgeous and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The views were amazing! The restaurants and stores were very good. They definitely spoil their customers and set the expectations high for other hotels. We loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgans32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.2 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing