We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
244
95
27
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
95
27
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelpillow menuaveda productssame complexconverted breweryfree valetbook storeunder one roofcontinental breakfastlake walkbrew housedeluxe roominteresting shopsmodern amenitiesgranola barscoupon bookchain hotels
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 383 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our party of 7 stayed in two lake-side rooms in Fitger's and enjoyed watching the boats, a sailboat regatta, lots of foot traffic on the lake path below and the passenger train that comes through once a day. We walked to an English Pub for dinner, enjoyed ice cream next door before getting caught in the rain. Fitger's is a great place to stay, close to downtown walking. The rooms are clean, the kids had no problem sleeping on the hide-a-bed and roll-away in the room, there was so much space in the rooms. The place was so quiet and the staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was a bonus - grab a bite while watching the sun rise over the lake.

Room Tip: Don't forget to specify city-side or lake-side room. :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCmomofabunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. Our rooms were gorgeous and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The views were amazing! The restaurants and stores were very good. They definitely spoil their customers and set the expectations high for other hotels. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgans32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Besides the historic and beautiful location of this inn, the staff were wonderful. All of the front desk staff was friendly, personal and helpful. After getting home and realizing I left behind a new phone charger, one phone call solved it and they promptly mailed it back to me.
I really appreciated the setting of the place and the great staff.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Doradog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. We were in a lake view room in the corner on the 4th floor. 3 windows with a view of Lake Superior, which was beautiful. The room is large and the bathroom is very good, though the tub drain was slow. The room was clean, but the carpet was beat up and needs replacement , and one of the attractive side chairs was stained. Too bad, because otherwise this was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The hallways are very wide and attractive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I agree that the continental breakfast was minimal....could have used some hard boiled eggs and granola or other cereal. The bed in this room is in an elevated part of the room, up 2 stairs, and you wake up looking out over Lake Superior...brilliant. The Lake walk is right out the back of the hotel, and we walked both directions, toward the Rose Garden and toward the aerial bridge, with is unattractive from a distance but very cool to see up close, as they raise it for boats. A bit expensive, $216 with the AAA discount, but really, this was a memorable room, and I recommend the hotel strongly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the third time staying at Fitger's. A historic property with hugely vaulted ceilings and period decor. Being right on Lake Superior's coast and lake walk, you can take in an amazing stroll to the City Center right along the lake front. If you're just needing r & r, Fitger's offer's amazing dining, shopping, spa-ing on site as well. It's location is perfect. The friendly staff is amazingly accommodating. It's become an annual stop on our way to the boundary waters, and comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although a lake view is preferred, city side are lovely. Take advantage of the pillow "menu", if you're used to a certain type (goose down, etc.) they'll ensure you have it for a great night's sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeingtheWorld66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews