We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful hotel in Duluth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
River Forest, Illoinois
Level Contributor
338 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in Duluth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fitger's, located in a transformed old brewery building, is a truly first-class hotel. The rooms are huge, many with jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, and many with a separate living-room space. Service is superb - including complimentary valet parking. And if you tell the valet parker when you next want your car, it is there, without you having to make a separate call for it to be brought around. Great location in the heart of downtown Duluth, and with an internal culture of service that is as good as any hotel anywhere, it is hard to imagine a better place to stay in Duluth. No pool, but a good gym.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    80
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
169
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

A friend and I decided to have a girls weekend in Duluth and we decided to try Fitger's Inn. Best decission ever! Tons of shops and entertainment within the complex and great view. The best part of our stay was the service from the minute we walked through the door. The doors being opened for us, the front desk all smiles and thanks yous, I really felt like we got the royal treatment. A car was waiting to take us anywhere down town and picked us up to bring us back. GREAT PLACE, great people! Thanks Fitger's Inn. 5 big stars for service.

Room Tip: Lots of places to eat right in the complex. Great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved the view from our 3rd story room. Waking up to the sun coming up on Lake Superior was breath taking. The room was peaceful and clean. Parking is never a problem for its a free valet. The location is in the heart of downtown Duluth where you can walk to and from all the lovely shops. There is a brewery in the basement of Fitgers Inn and some very cool shops! Id recommend this place even for a quick little get away.

Room Tip: Stay on the Lakeside- Well worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyF764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely love Fitgers. The service is excellent, from the complimentary valet parking to the incredibly polite housekeeping and maintenance staff. Our room, which was a luxury king with lake view, was very large and very comfortable. Our room still had the original brick walls and extra high ceilings. The window is incredibly tall and the view from our room was of the end of canal so we could see all of the ships coming and going. The bed was very comfortable and the pillow menu was a nice touch as well. We have stayed in Duluth often over the last 15 years but this is our first stay at Fitgers. We typically stay in Canal Park. I can definitively say that we will be stayig at Fitgers on our future visits!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

from the moment I called to make a reservation to the moment I checked out, my husband and I were delighted with the service of this hotel. the staff was amazing....whoever is in charge of hiring the BEST employees and managing the front desk should be recognized. this hotel will always be my first choice in Duluth. location is excellent. we went to Bay Front park multiple times for an event and the complimentary shuttle was there to pick us up and drop us off every time and on time! great choice of restaurants on site, great shopping onsite. very happy, will be back. thank you!

Room Tip: choose second floor! no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cashierkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is top notch! I love the old brick walls inside, the rich looking carpet, the bell hops and the grand piano in the main foyer. Everything is clean, the service is amazing and you have all the comforts of home right in your hotel room! The local paper is delivered right to your bedroom door in the morning. I started coming here as a child with my parents, and now I am continuing that with my own family. It is a popular place for obvious reasons and hard to find a room unless you plan well in advance. Fitger's Brewery is right downstairs and the perfect way to end an evening. There is also the Midi Restaurant which I like to visit in the morning and watch the ships out on the lake while I drink my coffee. There is also a mini mall attached to the hotel with Adeva spa just downstairs.

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms are worth the extra money. You have a wonderful view and you don't have the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel can charge what they want purely for the amazing location. The rooms are sub-par and WAY overpriced. I also had friends staying in the "penthouse suite" upstairs which was extremely non-impressive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarMc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing