We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love this place!”
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at Fitger's for a quick get-away! Tons of character, great staff, comfortable beds, great location...within walking distance to Canal Park and downtown Duluth. Many great shops in the complex. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwiththeband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for a night while on business in Duluth. I would recommend it highly. The brewery downstairs is also excellent. The room I had was very large although it was on the road side, not the lake side. Next time, I'll spring for the lake view room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FPoncherello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed two nights recently in a king room with a lake view. Since this is a renovated old hotel, the windows are smaller than I'd like, as are the rooms and bathrooms. But it's a great location and our room had lovely furnishings, curtains, etc. The bed was especially comfortable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had an opportunity to spend a couple of days in Duluth recently and decided to stay at Fitger's. I am so glad we did. Upon arrival, we immediately felt at home. The staff are professional, friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a standard room, king bed, lake view. Although the room was somewhat small it was tastefully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. Also, it was QUIET - no noise to be heard from outside our walls. There isn't a swimming pool, which did not matter to us, but it might if you are traveling with children who want that amenity. We had our bikes with us and were able to get on the bike path right outside the hotel and rode for miles, also enjoyed long walks. There are lots of areas to sit outside and watch the freighters on Lake Superior, or just enjoy the beauty of the lake. We enjoyed our stay at Fitgers and will definitely return - this time for a longer visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justthe2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I reserved very late (2 hours before we showed up) and were lucky to grab one of the last rooms.

The room was right off the lobby and shared three walls with the elevator shaft. I anticipated the worst and thought I was going to be disturbed all night.

Nothing. Stone silence.

This is a class act. A fair price, friendly staff and uber-quiet.

Room Tip: Room 201. Convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPatrickinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were drawn to Fitger's for its history and lake side location. We stayed in a corner room with a wonderful "cruise-ship-like" view of Lake Superior. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. Todd at the front desk was very kind and helpful--the service in the hotel was great. We enjoyed strolling along the lake walk down to Canal Park and, in the opposite direction, scenic Leif Ericson park. We also enjoyed perusing the adjoining shops and had a nice dinner in one of Fitger's 3 restaurants. We would definitely recommend Fitger's Inn and are already talking about when we can go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights for business. It was nice; right on the lake with an adjoining bar and restaurant.

The staff is friendly and I was able to use the lobby computer for boarding passes. I was in a small room, likely an office back in the day. I did not mind at all, the lake views were great.

Keep up the nice work. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $148 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing