We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Duluth and get a brew”
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights for business. It was nice; right on the lake with an adjoining bar and restaurant.

The staff is friendly and I was able to use the lobby computer for boarding passes. I was in a small room, likely an office back in the day. I did not mind at all, the lake views were great.

Keep up the nice work. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fitger's is brimming with charm. From the wallpaper to the furnishings, everything is a reference to its turn of the 20th century roots as a brewery. It is difficult to tell what is actually original to the building and what is made to look old. We had a queen room in the front of the building. I thought this might present a problem with noise but with the a/c on, we never heard another patron or any street noise.

The room was very clean (and I have high standards). There may have been a little dust in the corners, and a very little black in the grout in the shower corners, but everything else felt spotless and I felt at ease. The carpet seemed exceptionally clean. Speaking of the shower, the water pressure was FANTASTIC. I wish mine at home even approached the blast-power at Fitger's.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There are no ice machines on the floor, you must request ice at the front desk. We were informed of this at check-in and they even offered to fill our small travel cooler, which they did before we left the next day. There is both wireless and hard-wire Internet. There is turn-down service (upon request) and even a PILLOW MENU (I wish I had noticed the pillow menu earlier--I've been wanting to try a buckwheat pillow!).

The location is perfect.There are any number of shopping and eating choices right on the property and even more nearby. Just step outside the door and take a stroll along the lakeshore. In one direction, the Vietnam Memorial is short walking distance, and in the opposite direction Leif Ericcson park is a short walking distance. Lots and lots of photo opportunities are right there for your enjoyment.

Overall, I think the accommodations and service were what I would expect from a much more expensive hotel. If we ever make it back to Duluth, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: Next time we'd like a lakeside room to enjoy the view, but the street side was quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This historic hotel, previously a brewery, is right on the lake. I love the location away from the Canal Park tourist area, but easily accessible by trolley or lake walk. Three restaurants to choose from, all of which were good with surprisingly moderate pricing for a nice hotel. Of course the on-sight brewery is a plus!

Room Tip: Check out rooms on the website. King lake view is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAOTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the very friendly and accommodating staff, to rooms that are comfortable, quiet and have character, we've never been disappointed. It's also located right on the lake, with easy access to the lake walk that takes you down to Canal Park. This is our place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are always great, but we stayed in a city view room at a lower rate and were not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hello - We had stayed at Fitgers a couple of times in the past, but it had been 12 years since our last visit. Wow - we were so happy we chose to stay here again. The service was wonderful, the hotel location is great, our room was fabulous (King deluxe on 4th floor) and very clean and they now have a nice continental breakfast in the morning. The bed was also very comfortable and they offer a pillow menu if interested. It was a great place to spend our anniversary! There are a nice assortment of restaurants and bars located on and next to the property and it is right on the boardwalk with excellent views of the lake. We will be back (maybe with the kids next time) and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The lake views are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fitgers is always our first choice when we visit Duluth. It is located right on the lake and you can take a stroll and walk to canal park to watch the ships come and go in the harbor. There are many shops and restaurants located in Fitgers so you don't have to go far if you don't want to. They also have a fabulous ice cream shop that you can have your ice cream while enjoying the lake views.
The rooms in Fitgers are very cozy and comfortable. Beds are great and you have a choice of what type of pillow is best for you. Have stayed here many times and have never been bothered by noise, even when staying in a room on the street side. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our second time here in a month. As we checked out, we reserved a room for the late fall to come back again. This is a relaxing place located where we can access the best of what Duluth has to offer. It's a place from the past but connected to great shops and bars. You can sit in your room and see the lake. Great coffee is served with rolls at 5am. I'm an early riser and really appreciate that. The paper is hanging on my door. I feel I am at home. I leave my room in shorts and walk downstairs to get my steaming hot coffee. The lakewalk trail is outside the back door. We walk and cycle there. It's a quick walk from there to the lift bridge and all the restaurants and action there. It's just a great centrally located place from which to enjoy this great lake front city. Love it!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Williamrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.3 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $147 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing