We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome historic hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Jourdanton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome historic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This historic hotel, previously a brewery, is right on the lake. I love the location away from the Canal Park tourist area, but easily accessible by trolley or lake walk. Three restaurants to choose from, all of which were good with surprisingly moderate pricing for a nice hotel. Of course the on-sight brewery is a plus!

Room Tip: Check out rooms on the website. King lake view is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAOTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    79
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
162
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the very friendly and accommodating staff, to rooms that are comfortable, quiet and have character, we've never been disappointed. It's also located right on the lake, with easy access to the lake walk that takes you down to Canal Park. This is our place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are always great, but we stayed in a city view room at a lower rate and were not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hello - We had stayed at Fitgers a couple of times in the past, but it had been 12 years since our last visit. Wow - we were so happy we chose to stay here again. The service was wonderful, the hotel location is great, our room was fabulous (King deluxe on 4th floor) and very clean and they now have a nice continental breakfast in the morning. The bed was also very comfortable and they offer a pillow menu if interested. It was a great place to spend our anniversary! There are a nice assortment of restaurants and bars located on and next to the property and it is right on the boardwalk with excellent views of the lake. We will be back (maybe with the kids next time) and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The lake views are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fitgers is always our first choice when we visit Duluth. It is located right on the lake and you can take a stroll and walk to canal park to watch the ships come and go in the harbor. There are many shops and restaurants located in Fitgers so you don't have to go far if you don't want to. They also have a fabulous ice cream shop that you can have your ice cream while enjoying the lake views.
The rooms in Fitgers are very cozy and comfortable. Beds are great and you have a choice of what type of pillow is best for you. Have stayed here many times and have never been bothered by noise, even when staying in a room on the street side. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Our second time here in a month. As we checked out, we reserved a room for the late fall to come back again. This is a relaxing place located where we can access the best of what Duluth has to offer. It's a place from the past but connected to great shops and bars. You can sit in your room and see the lake. Great coffee is served with rolls at 5am. I'm an early riser and really appreciate that. The paper is hanging on my door. I feel I am at home. I leave my room in shorts and walk downstairs to get my steaming hot coffee. The lakewalk trail is outside the back door. We walk and cycle there. It's a quick walk from there to the lift bridge and all the restaurants and action there. It's just a great centrally located place from which to enjoy this great lake front city. Love it!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethel mn usa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

A real Hotel where service matters and is first rate. The rooms are top notch with your comfort first in mind, clean and well kept. All the shopping you can handle with in walking distance. You have to plan ahead to get the rooms you want as this is a very popular Hotel. Just love this place.

Room Tip: Stay with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercer e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
322 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Fitgers Inn on our vacation and we absolutely loved the place. Thereis so much history in this place and after learning about it, I am sure glad on how things worked out and the building was saved. The staff are top notch, the property is well maintained. We loved our room. The shops are good for checking out and buying things. I also find it very cool that they still brew beer in the old factory. It is like the place still has its beating heart. If we ever happen to be in Duluth again, the Fitgers will be our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing