We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Throwback to when Service Mattered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Throwback to when Service Mattered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We just went 3 days here and loved every minute. This is an historic inn. The rooms are beautiful with plush towels and Terrica lake views. Coffee maker in the room and better yet, rolls and coffee and the Wall Strret Journal in the lobby at 5 am. Right next to the Lake Walk. Short walk to Canal area with many shops and restaurants. Close to great restaurants. Super 8 it is not. I don't mind a cheap hotel when I just need a place to sleep. When I want a place to Stay, I'll pick a place like this anytime. The staff is great. Helped us in every way. We've already booked a return trip here. This is at the gateway to the North Shore. This place and region are a national treasure. Ps try the mushroom soup in the Midi restaurant! Did I mention the coffee is rich and great! Shops and bars close by. My wife and I just loved it. Get the premium room lakeside. Splurge a little. You won't regret it!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Williamrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    81
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
172
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband took me to Fitgers for an extended weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. The original pieces of a wall or chandelier were neat and interesting to see however the rooms are highly out dated. When I am paying close to a thousand dollars for a long weekend, I expect some modern amenities. There is an old tube tv, the furniture in the penthouse suite is dated back to the late 80s, in our bathroom there was a burn mark in the countertop and the two person whirlpool has gold drains and faucet that were tarnishing and flaking. The caulking around the outside of the tub was moldy looking and even missing in some places. The continental breakfast was average, there wasn't a waffle or pancake maker, the usual cold cereal, donuts, yogurts, etc..
We did enjoy the fact that the hotel is close to the boardwalk and you could see ships come in from the balcony but I think next time around we will look for a hotel on the boardwalk in canal park. You basically pay for the view and location.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HiediF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Heidi F,

Thank you very much for your review. I do want to let you know that since you stayed with us in April of last year, things have change quite a bit.

First of all, all our rooms have Samsung flat panel televisions, complete with 70 channels of HD programming. In addition, the entire hotel went under a three year renovation that was completed in May of 2011 and has been purposely decorated to keep the feel of the 1920's in mind. In addition, all our case goods are from the Georgian period, which has an early 1800's feel. I'm sorry that you felt this came off as a 1980's feel.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations with our continental breakfast. Since Midi Restaurant is open daily for breakfast and rooms service, we feel it is best to let them handle the "hot" food as it is far better quality that you will ever get on an expanded continental breakfast.

I would certainly like to speak with you regarding your stay, as there are several questions I have. In your review, you stated the bathroom has "tarnished and flaking bathroom fixtures". Our hotel only has 1 suite that has gold bathroom fixtures and the suite is on the cityside, not lakeside, and does not have a balcony as you had mentioned. In addition, these bathroom fixtures are in perfect condition, so I am confused about this statement.

However, we do care about our guests and take it personally if they are not happy, so most importantly, we would really appreciate an opportunity to try to make it right for you.

Sincerely,

Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Fitger's Inn in Duluth, MN to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The Inn is beautiful - large rooms, intricate woodworking, stained glass chandeliers, and spectacular views of Lake Superior & the Duluth harbor. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean. The valet service was efficient. There was nothing we would change. The Fitger's Inn is part of a larger building that houses several restaurants, many shops, and a brewery. One of our favorite events of the weekend was to take the Brewhouse tour. We enjoyed the one hour beer lesson as well as several beer samples during the tour & after.

Room Tip: The lake-side rooms are well worth any extra dollars over the city-view rooms - beautiful lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann43325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a beautiful old hotel in one of the best locations in Duluth. The hotel is small, and that allows for a lot of attention to detail. The staff is very helpful (offering to retrieve the valet parked car at midnight as my husband forgot his cell phone).

The rooms are well appointed and the views beautiful. Fitgers offers free valet parking, as well as self parking next to the building. There are many shops and restaurants on site, and many more within walking distance. The suites are huge, and the Internet is free no matter your room type.

This is a top notch hotel for Duluth. It should be noted that if you are expecting the highest level of service (as you would find in a major metro like the twin cities or Chicago) you are NOT going to find it in Duluth. However Fitgers is almost there! We had a great stay and will make this out hotel of choice for all future trips.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here in February and enjoyed the hotel. As a Travel Agent (Journeys Around the World), I get to experience many hotels for both business and personal vacations. This stay was personal. Opted for a Lake view room which was worth it for the wonderful view of Lake Superior and the Lift Bridge. Room was spacious with modern amenities. Hotel has a doorman and valet parking. Close to downtown. Great alternative to the standard chains in Duluth. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Lakeview room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a great spot. Here is my breakdown of the pluses and minuses:

1) Great location
2) Numerous shopping and dining experiences on site
3) They have their own nightclub on sight
4) The food at the multiple premises on sight on great
5) Excellent service - enjoy the locals being "Minnesota nice"
6) Wonderful view
7) Okay Workout room with weights
8) Can walk throughout downtown
9) Close to a casino and numerous other dining experience
10) Aveda products in the room
11) Ambiance

Minuses:
1) The rooms are nice but not elegant
2) Since you are in Northern MN the heaters turn on and off a lot. You may want earplugs

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusLeis45458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Fitger's Inn is by far our favorite place to stay when in Duluth. We have stayed several times and are never disappointed with our accommodations. The rooms are very clean, roomy, comfortable and each one has its own charm. Feels just like home! Great views from the lakeside rooms, close to downtown, walking path right out the back door, great shopping, great restaurants and pet friendly. Our dog loves it there! We were just there celebrating my birthday and we had another wonderful time. Everyone there does an excellent job of making you feel welcome. We highly recommend this beautiful, historic hotel when visiting Duluth for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooterpieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing