We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming Hotel right on the Lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel right on the Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Fitger's Inn is situated right near downtown Duluth, right on Lake Superior. You can pretty much walk everywhere from here. You don't even have to go outside if you don't want to. Fitger's Brewhouse is located in the same building and is one of our favorite brew-pubs around. The staff is great and very helpful. We usually book ahead for our annual winter trip and you get a very nice discount when you pay ahead, which makes it cheaper than most hotels in downtown Duluth.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel breakfast and go to Chester Creek Cafe/At Sara's Table. It is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnkleTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    76
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
153
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had found this hotel online and arrived with the intent of staying in the penthouse for the night but found out they only had four pet friendly rooms and the penthouse was not one of them. The lady working the front desk, Heidi, was extremely helpful though. She showed me the two available pet friendly suites and even gave me the best possible price to make up for not being able to allow us to stay in one of the penthouses with the dog. The suite we ended up staying in was very roomy, comfortable, clean, and amazingly well decorated. Heidi even very willingly watched our dog for us while we went to the in-house resteraunt for dinner!
Our stay here was EXCELLENT at the very least!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enigma7321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a room overlooking Lake Superior. We saw some of the ships coming and going (they are listed in the local paper that you get every day). It was fantastic. It was a little cold--(November in Duluth!) but we managed to take a few walks along the lakefront path. We really enjoyed walking to an Italian restaurant (if you are facing the Fitger's it is one block to your left-don't remember the name). We had a really great pizza and Italian pasta. Also bought a piece of pottery at the store by the restaurant. The owners are from Italy and the pottery was really priced well. If we go back to Duluth, we will be back at the Fitger's.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great historic hotel on the water in Duluth. Many shops co-located with the hotel, as well as restaurants and a brew pub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmer6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

When we arrived the front desk clerk upgraded us to a room with a spectacular view of Lake Superior and we were rewarded the next morning with a brilliant sunrise. Aside from the panorama of the lake and Canal Park, we enjoyed the coziness of the room and the general ambience of the building, the free parking and the helpful and friendly service at the front desk.

Dinner at the brew pub was fun and as if all this wasn't enough, breakfast at the Midi restaurant downstairs overlooking the lake was superb.

We don't know when we'll be back to Duluth but we will definitely stay at Fitger's.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Fitger's has been a favorite of ours for years. Location, dining options, clean & comfortable rooms for sure, plus the place has some charm and character that you will not find at the regular chains. Staff is top-notch, and pay attention to the details. I am so glad we strayed from the brand name spots and gave it a try many years ago.

Room Tip: Lake view if you can get it, but usually costs more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband travels to Duluth several times a year. He has always stays at the Fitger's Inn (even though we are Hilton Honors Diamond members). I was fortunate to travel with him in July to Duluth and was excited about being able to finally stay at this hotel. It was amazing! You don't feel like your in a hotel (maybe more like in someone's guest suite). I believe all the rooms are different. The shops and resturants in the place are fun. The hotel sits on the lake front and has a walkway that runs all the way to an area of more shops and resturants. The hotel van will take anywhere in Duluth as well as pick up! If you're in Duluth, you have to stay at the Fitgers Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfam61873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing