We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Historic and different! Nice place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic and different! Nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband travels to Duluth several times a year. He has always stays at the Fitger's Inn (even though we are Hilton Honors Diamond members). I was fortunate to travel with him in July to Duluth and was excited about being able to finally stay at this hotel. It was amazing! You don't feel like your in a hotel (maybe more like in someone's guest suite). I believe all the rooms are different. The shops and resturants in the place are fun. The hotel sits on the lake front and has a walkway that runs all the way to an area of more shops and resturants. The hotel van will take anywhere in Duluth as well as pick up! If you're in Duluth, you have to stay at the Fitgers Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfam61873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    79
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
163
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

For a first time visitor to Duluth, Fitger's offers virtually everything a tourist is seeking from a historic setting on the area's chief attraction to gift shops and a choice of superb eating and drinking spots. The service was flawless and friendly. There is an adjoining shore front board walk that adds to the experience.

Room Tip: A room on the shore side of the hotel adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville,Oh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Fitger's Inn is our regular stop when traveling through Duluth. The staff treats you like family. I don't think we've ever had any requests that have not been immediately and cheerfully fulfilled. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are gorgeous, both lakeside and streetside. The mattresses and pillows(from their pillow menu) are such that we and other family members have purchased them for our own homes. We average about 7-10 stays over the course of the year and it has truly become a 'home away from home.'

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, staff will help you pick out room to fit your needs when you make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Beautiful rooms, quiet, amazing views-either lake or city side. The best place to stay in Duluth!

Room Tip: The city side rooms are great-you can see the lights at night, and are usually priced lower than lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have stayed here before and it was perfect, but this time the room was not as clean and there was a smell. The vent in the bathroom was so plugged with dirt and dust. The corners of the room were not vacuumed. We were so tired because it was late getting in, we didn't tell the front desk until the morning. The staff is very helpful and kind. We would stay again, but alert a problem right away if there was one.

Room Tip: Ask what their best rate would be when you call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rthsh0readdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of its charm but probably would not go back because the bed was very uncomfortable! Otherwise the service was first class and the hotel was at a great location and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash49Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I recently stayed at Fitger's Inn in Duluth, Minnesota. It was wonderful. The room was very clean, elegant and spacious. The beds are comfortable, there's a complimentary newspaper hanging on the door each morning and they use Aveda toiletries. I recommend asking specifically for the rooms on the side facing the lake with high ceilings - the view is inspiring.

The only negative aspect of our stay was the room service. Once the waitress complained when we asked for a glass of water, which you have to ask for specifically, another time they forgot a glass, and in general the food is not very good at all. The duck was overcooked, the potatoes were dry, and the mushroom ravioli was drowing in olive oil with an overpowering amount of fresh garlic. I would suggest eating some other place while you stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLC129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#14 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing