We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-Hoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canal Park

Ranked #5 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch seagulls soaring while you stroll around this popular spot, part of the revived Duluth waterfront. Nearby are a sculpture garden, jazz clubs, coffee shops, motels and restaurants. If you like ships, stand on the pier and watch huge boats and ships, some from around the world, come and go daily.
Edgeley, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A-Hoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ships passing in and through were incredible. Our son age 6 was significantly impacted in "Aw" of the massive moving masses. A breathe taking view and historic event!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    274
    48
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place to wander around for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

11 years ago, my then fiancé and I spent some time exploring and had a blast! Now, all these years later, we had such fun showing our 7 year old around and all 3 of us had a blast. Something simple like skimming rocks along the rock beach, checking out the lighthouse,walking along the canal and visiting the maritime museum = plenty to see to be entertained for an hour or so and then several good eateries to choose from = a very fun afternoon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pleasant lakeside walks and shops but ....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Canal Park does have pleasant lakeside walks and some shops worth a browse, but a couple of hours exhausted it and the choice of places to eat is very "samey", that is, they offer much the same menu choices in much the same style.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarrieLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful walkway around the shore. The rocks were the best part for my kids who really enjoyed climbing on them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tedarinoinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A scenic walk along Lake Superior. Lots of shops to check out and several very good restaurants. The aerial bridge is the highlight of the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing