We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Riding up on the bridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aerial Lift Bridge

Aerial Lift Bridge
Ranked #3 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally constructed in 1905 as an aerial lift, this unusual elevator bridge is 386 feet long and spans the canal entrance to Duluth Harbor.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riding up on the bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

When I was 6 yrs old (1955) my Dad was friends with the bridge operator. He let myself & my Dad ride up on the bridge as an ore carrier passed underneath. It is one of the most thrilling experience of my life. It felt to me as though we were 1000 feet up. At the time it was taboo for anyone but the operator to be on the bridge when it was rising. Thrill of a lifetime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    214
    38
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“When in Duluth - a must see...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I grew up about 70 miles from Duluth. As a kid if we went to Duluth we would frequently visit. I now live 4 hours away - but still enjoy stopping and seeing it. It's fun to see it raised when a ship has to go through. Very pretty at night the way they illuminate it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GTODriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Impressive bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had the chance to see a huge cargo ship pass under the bridge and the whole bridge lift up. It was very impressive and cool to see. The area around the bridge is very touristy and there are a lot of souvenir shops so there is something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Got Lucky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We got lucky on our trip and had the chance to see the lift bridge in action. It was very cool, and fun to hear the horns of the ship and the bridge tooting at each other. Kids loved this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Duluth Logo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nothing epitomizes Duluth better than the Aerial Lift Bridge. No matter where you live you acknowledge this to be the symbol of Duluth, Minnesota. Whether viewed in the daytime, in inclement weather or lit up at night the bridge represents the stability of Duluth and its ability to persevere in whatever environmental condition could exist at the tip of the Greatest Lake Superior.
Whether you walk across the bridge or ride across in a car listening to the tires humming over the grates, the thrill is of this magnificent structure. Even die-hard Park Pointers who must endure getting "bridged" have to reluctantly acknowledge its majesty and magnificence.

No symbol could be more Duluth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank duluthharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aerial Lift Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Aerial Lift Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing