We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Going back soon to see the Train Exhibit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Superior Railroad Museum

Lake Superior Railroad Museum
Ranked #11 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going back soon to see the Train Exhibit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We initially went (my husband and I) to the Museum as it houses an art gallery. We wanted to see the paintings on exhibit and also the sculpture. Even though the gallery was nicely done, the art was well done, it just wasn't the style of art we prefer. However....We did thoroughly enjoy the logging exhibit and didn't have enough time to see the train exhibit. We will surely go back to see that!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickandHeidi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    69
    27
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Been many years,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Its one of the best train set ups for history in the country, enjoy this one everyone family or not its a must see

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2013Krenzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience. Possibly not for everybody.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Lake Superior Museum is housed in the historic Duluth Depot, which allows them to not only show the rolling stock easily, but to provide historical context, which is pretty cool.

For me, the centerpiece of the train exhibit is the impossibly huge Mallet No. 227 engine, which is one of the most powerful steam locomotives ever built. An absurd 128 feet long, and shiny black, it's truly astonishing. Even cooler: climb aboard! Sitting in the engineer's seat, it's like driving a car where the hood is a half-block long, and impossible to see over.

There are lots of other locomotives, and other cars, including cabooses, which are particularly interesting. Many of them are open to walk through.

A warning about the walking: these trains were all built before the ADA, and many are completely inaccessible to people with limited mobility. I don't fault the museum, since the inside of a diesel-electric locomotive is very cramped, and the climb up to the gondola of the caboose was designed for railwaymen in reasonable physical shape.

Also, I can imagine that not everybody is into this kind of history. But if you are remotely interested in historical technology, or even just in enormous powerful machines, you'll want to spend two or three hours here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EarlysvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WHOO WHOOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A very nice Railroad Museum I visited the Museum several years ago and returned this year, mainly for the Scenic Train ride up the shore of lake superior. The museum has a lot of trains inside that you can walk thru and very nice displays. The Train ride was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simplelife1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful museum, an amazing collection of trains and rolling stock. Train tours for all ages and likes. A great place for young and old and a perfect place to hang out on a cold or rainy day! One of the best railroad museums in the country!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing