We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic railroad museum”

Lake Superior Railroad Museum
Ranked #10 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic railroad museum”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very well maintained,lots of different engines,and lots of railroad history. Make sure you have plenty of time to tour

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bunny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    82
    30
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crystal
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was very interesting to see actual different older trains and well set up. Everyone there was extremely friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bested My Expectations”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to the Museum to take the kiddies on the train ride up the Northshore. We debated over spending the extra money for the museum. I am glad we did.

My expectations were based on the Henry Ford and the Smithsonian. What could Duluth offer. They had a large selection of railroad equipment like two kinds of snow plows. (of course, Duluth is a bit on the Northern side.) My favorite is the articulated #227 locomotive. It is a impressive beast. You can walk up into the cab and get some small sense of what it was like to run one of these.

If you come to take the ride, be sure to spend the extra for the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TervurenTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a collection”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not only do you see quite the collection, you get to ride some of them also. These beautiful machines have been saved and preserved for our benefit. The Depot is an architectural gem.
See one of the biggest steam engines ever built.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake Falls, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went on the Lester River train. It was ok but you spent more time changing tracks than actually sightseeing. It was hard to get a good view. We would do the two harbors train next time. But unfortunately these only run on Friday, Sat and Sunday and we were there during the week. Overall good experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeggyN198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing