We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic romantic getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Austin MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic romantic getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. Beautiful room with lake view. Spa tub in room. Little fridge and set of dishes. Even a wine bottle opener! The pool was small but nice. Close to downtown. Underground parking was really nice. Great service. Fantastic value. I will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EKALangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    55
    35
    29
    15
See reviews for
71
101
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recently stayed over marathon weekend.
Location: Convenient location and nice walk to Canal Park and Superior Street. The view of Lake Superior from the room was great.
Room: King with pull-out sofa. Nice layout of room; full kitchen with all functioning appliances; variety of cooking utensils.
Bed: king bed was fairly comfortable; soft mattress
Pull-out sleeper sofa: the mattress was very uncomfortable; every spring could be felt. Essentially no padding on the mattress. Housekeeping brought an air mattress.
Noise: easily hear neighbors' conversations through walls, bathroom vent, and doorway. They do have a "quite time" which most honored.
Shoreline: limited use but nice to sit on grass near shoreline
Cleanliness: everything was very clean except the carpet; majority of carpet was very dirty with stains
Parking: utilized their underground parking which was convenient

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etomidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We all know it's right on the lake and has amazing views, it was very foggy the two days we stayed here and we could hardly see the lake, but that's Duluth. We stayed in a condo room and it was very large, nicely updated and comfortable (we were pleasantly surprise when we walked in the room)
The breakfast and coffee (I went to McD across the road to get coffee after my first cup) were definitely nothing to write home about, but they were included. Also had indoor garage available on a first come first serve basis, but since the place was mostly empty when we stayed we got first pick of parking spots (it came in handy since it was raining).
Staff was friendly enough, the common areas were clean and appeared to be well maintained. They call themselves a resort, and I did see a few kayaks and bikes in the underground garage that were available. The water in the shower decently did not get hot enough, this about the only minor complaint I have.
I would recommend staying here (and would stay again), but it is a bit pricey for what you get considering you could go down the road about a mile and stay for much less.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dino0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our stay at Beacon Point from May 29th thru June 2nd 2014 was a very pleasant experience. Our 1 bedroom room is still in need of their renovation project underway...bed spread show significant sign of age, badly torn seams etc. and their promise of Jacuzzi repair went unfulfilled. The popularity of this place was attested to on Saturday evening when nearly all available parking spots were filled...annoying especially if one drives a large vehicle. The complimentary breakfast was very good, nice variety and good supply kept up by the attendant.
The complimentary "Smores" in the evening were a hit when the grandsons visited after using the pool which is small but barely used. The balcony is a mere 40 feet from the lake shore, nice view until the fog rolls in as it did during our stay. We definitely would choose this location again, good accommodations at a rea$onable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a beautiful place! When I walked into my condo I was astonished by the wrap around views of Lake Superior and Duluth. The furnishings were top notch. Beautiful kitchen. The king size bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi in the bedroom was HUGE! We were literally steps away from the Lake Walk that took us all the way to the shipping channel and the Areal Lift Bridge. Breakfast was included and was nothing special but we had a full kitchen where we could have prepared something bigger had we wanted to. My only regret is that we could only stay two nights. We loved watching all of the ships pass by. I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit which had wraparound windows which were amazing. Being off of the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I barely spent any time here, mostly just to sleep for one night. The view from the room of Lake Superior is awesome! I have mixed feelings about the room. It was a basic king room facing the lake. I like that the bathroom seemed updated and it was big. We did have a handicapped room so maybe that is why. I liked the little sink, microwave and refrigerator in the room. They were nice. What I think could use some updating is the carpet and the bedspread. The carpet seemed dirty and the bedspread was out of date. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night sleep in it. I would try this place again with the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condos since my son goes to school in Duluth and this is a convenient place to stay. Also, I think they are in the process of doing some updating. I hope so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This resort/luxury condo complex is on the northeast edge of Duluth with a spectacular view of the bay and harbor. Each of the suites are deluxe with all the amenities one would expect with a high end resort/hotel. Three blocks and you are back on the expressway to downtown Duluth with Canal Park about a 10 minute ride. We were there when the ice was breaking up. What I thought was thunder ended up to be ice jams in the lake colliding with each other.

Room Tip: First suite to the left from the checkin desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Property: Beacon Pointe Resort
Address: 2100 Water St, Duluth, MN 55812-2134
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing