We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If you can't relax here, it can't be done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you can't relax here, it can't be done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Delightful staff, luxurious room, deck chairs to relax in as you watch Lake Superior, just a few feet from the shore, and minutes from anything you might need in Duluth. You feel so removed from everything, this is a true oasis.

Room Tip: Bring your own snacks-nice size fridge in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    55
    35
    29
    14
See reviews for
67
99
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had reviewed many other reviews of Beacon before taking the chance and booking. While the overall condition was fine, the finer things that you think would accompany an resort’s use of Luxury in the tag line were missing. The common areas, pool and view were amazing. The lake was right out our back patio. From other reviews I understand that some updates are planned for the fall. I hope this is true as the stained carpet and tattered linens are in need of replacement. While the hotel did not seem to be full, we were placed in a handicap accessible room. In the bathroom, where I am assuming a bench once was where holes covered with duck tape and a pink stained shower curtain which distracted from the beautiful tile work. Our pillow top bed was so worn, you could see the outline of two bodies in it. The view and proximity to Lake Superior was outstanding but I fear this detail will not bring people back when there is so much attention to detail needed in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. Please come let us know what you think! As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this on spec' from the UK. It was an important holiday as my sister came down from Canada and niece in from Minneapolis. It was an long awaited family get together.

It lived up to expectations and proved to be a great location for the view, visiting Duluth and the surrounding area. The lake side opportunities and facilities were great. Only three points:

- we agree with another reviewer that the housekeeping were inconsistent and disorganised.
- access to the lake side is not easy. With a little work this could be a great asset to the resort.
- there is a continental breakfast available but we only found out when we got there.

Room Tip: Ring or email prior to going and check your arrangements/booking. The website needs redesigning as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloydie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a room with Troy who is a manager and when we checked in it was different then what we booked. I called the front desk and they said sorry but we can't help you. They were booked complete and couldn't move us but they could of gave a discount, and didn't. The room smelled so bad when we walked in the smell was out to second door. I called front desk about that, again they said sorry but we can't do anything about it. We were so mad that we didn't go back to the room until we went to bed. We woke up and checked out. They asked at the front desk how was are stay, we told them of the problems and they said "Oh" that was it. I sat down two days later and wrote a long email to Troy the manager and after a month he wrote back "sorry about your stay we're remodling in the fall." That's it. I know they like the business but don't care if people come back. I'm sure beacon point will comment on this review but you have had a month to correct the problem but have chose NOT TO. We stayed August 3rd in room 205b, not our first time we have stayed there but it will be our last. Please be aware if you have problems you will be on your own.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginamikekhloejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Only resort right on the waterfront in Duluth--easy access to I-35 and the Lakewalk. Huge rooms that overlook the lake and the canal lift bridge. Very peaceful to jus t sit and watch the waves and the ships.

Only quibble is that housekeeping was slow on making up the rooms. But otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cntrltxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Please, for the sake of your vacation don't stay here.

I'm a veteran north shore visitor (25+ yrs) and my family and I make it a point to stay someplace new every few years. We won't be staying here again.

We rented a two bedroom suite - two beds and we ended up with two pullout couches (one in the living room and one in a bonus back room). Two balconies, one of which was tiny with a wobbly railing.

Details:
Location - One of its few positives. Easy access on and off 35, easy access to canal park, the rest of Duluth, and points further north. Minimal traffic noise which was surprising due to its proximity to 35. Stunning views from the windows/balconies.

'Resort' first impressions - Not reeaally a resort. Looks like a nice condo complex which is what it is. It's surrounded on both sides by privately owned condos (and yes, I feel sorry for them). The parking area was awkward - they don't have enough underground parking for the rentals so a lot of cars end up parking on the small street outside the condo buildings creating a lot of congestion. The staff at the desk seemed really nice and attentive at first. Part of the group arrived a bit later and even after informing the front desk of their eta and having them hold the second parking pass at the desk, the late arriving members of my family had to spend ten minutes convincing them of their identity.

The rental unit - Right away we noticed the odd floorplan. It's designed in such a way that the unit can be divided and rented as a 1 bedroom (king bed) + couch (living room) and kitchen suite AND a king bed (in living room with jacuzzi tub) + couch (in small bedroom) and mini fridge/microwave suite. There is one door to enter the suite and then two additional locked doors to pass through to enter both sides of suite with a door connecting the two halves in the main living area. Nice if you feel the need for double locked doors, not nice if you only rent half the suite and have noisy neighbors since the bedrooms were in the back (with no windows) right next to the main doors.

Other first impressions - Disgusting filthy carpet, nice appliances, tons of fruit flies flying around, dated linens (fake gold crush velvet anyone?), nice bathrooms with broken hardware and overly complicated showers. I'm not one to be overly grossed out by hotels even though I once worked in one but the carpet looked as though animals had been peeing and pooing on it. The view however was a wow.

After staying there for the weekend I can also say the following - The carpet is bad. Really bad. So bad that I walked around in my sandals all weekend and cringed every time I saw my nephew crawling on the floor. Several advertised items were not in working order: Fireplace, jacuzzi tub, sauna in the pool area, iPod docking station, broken bathroom hardware. We reported these issues to the front desk on three separate occasions and each time were assured maintenance would be up to fix them. The items weren't fixed by the time we left - disappointing to say the least. The pillows and beds lack dust mite/sanitation covers and when we investigated we found very stained mattresses and pillows. Mold was growing in bathroom nooks and along the bottom of the shower curtains. Fruit flies continued to fly around, landing on food, beds, etc. Sound traveled quite well from nearby units/guests. We weren't able to sleep with the windows open due to other guests drinking and shouting from their rooms and balconies until 1am.

So if you've managed to make it to the end of my review here's the short version - Nice location with a great view, A LOT of deferred maintenance/updating, pleasant staff (high school and college age), and dirty when it came to carpet and the beds. Please, if you want to stay in Duluth aim for some other establishment. We're planning on heading back to Canal Park next year where the rooms are clean, maintenance fixes things, and the view is just as beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbinMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at Beacon Pointe numerous times over the last 3 years, and stayed in every room type. We'll start from the top up. The penthouse suites are amazing. I'm not sure if they're all the same, but the one we stayed in had a bedroom, a separate room with a Jacuzzi tub, and a view that never gets old. Plus a little private deck you can sit out on and have your morning coffee or just watch the ships go by. The other rooms are also nice. The regular room with the full kitchen is nice too, the only downside is the bedroom is in the back, so 1) no view of anything as there are no windows, and 2) it borders the hallway so when your neighbors come back the doors slam very loudly right outside your bedroom. Really that's the only con of Beacon Pointe. The location is ideal. While it's not in Canal Park, the view is worth it. The pool is alright. A little cold at times. It's close to everything and right off the freeway (you can't hear if though). I recommend Beacon Pointe all of the time to friends headed to Duluth. If you can afford to stay here, do it. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Property: Beacon Pointe Resort
Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing