We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
282
96
49
37
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
282
96
49
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking bedroom condo full kitchen three bedroom the penthouse canal park other resorts jacuzzi tub adirondack chairs walk or bike view of the lake lake superior lakeside suite anniversary weekend continental breakfast private patio lift bridge
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 482 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this resort, while I enjoyed the underground parking and the location. I found the breakfast to be lacking in variety and the bed was AWFUL!!! I think it is time to replace the mattress, it was very lumpy and you could feel a ridge down the center from the box spring. We did get a room overlooking the water but, the shade would not go up so we lost out on some of the beatiful view. This is a great place I think they just need to make some minor improvements.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone and tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We are currently in the process of receiving new bedding at our resort! We would love for you to stay with us again in the future! If you choose to rebook, please ask for Troy and we will make sure to get you in a room you enjoy! Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I reserved a 1BR Penthouse on a mid-December weekend and now have found a new place to stay on our frequent trips to Duluth. Our "penthouse" included a living room with gas fireplace, a full kitchen, two flat-screen TVs and a balcony close enough to the lake to allow me to skip stones from it. The room was an outstanding value compared to the prices we were accustomed to paying at the Duluth Sheraton for a much smaller lake-view room (with no kitchen, and located a good two blocks from the lake!) We've also stayed at Larsmont Cottages many times (another Odyssey Development property 20 miles further up the North Shore), but this in-town location allowed us to shop and dine more easily than at Larsmont.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently drove 2-1/2 hours to spend an anniversary with my girlfriend at Beacon Pointe Resort.

The first thing we noticed upon entering our room was that the throw pillows on our bed had some, uh...QUESTIONABLE stains on them. We found that to be pretty disgusting, considering this is a "luxury" resort. You would think they would just toss these cheap pillows away.

On our second day, we decided to go check out the pool/hottub. Pool was fine, but after about 5 minutes in the hot tub...we noticed all of the black mold that was growing near the filter, and we got out. We couldn't figure out how to work the steam room, as the controls seemed to do nothing, and the instructions had been worn off with time.

We looked at the continental breakfast and immediately decided to go to Perkins instead. Fruit looked old and nasty, pastries looked like they'd been pulled out of a vending machine and unwrapped. The best thing we found there was a glass of juice.

Also, the website promises you an iHome mp3/radio in your room. But our room did not have one.

Upon check-out, the front desk clerk asked about our stay. We politely told her all of our gripes, in detail. I certainly wasn't looking for anything free, but I just wanted it to be clear that we were pretty disappointed. She said she was sorry and hoped we'd come back, which we won't.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. As stated in other review responses we are in the process of upgrading our breakfast to include more offerings. These things do take some time to develop and we appreciate you being patient with us.We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Beacon Pointe in a One-Bedroom Suite for 2 nights and we absolutely loved the room! The view was amazing! We purchased the romantic package and arrived the rose petals covering the room, champagne, and chocolates. The kitchenette was adorable and the bed was big and comfy. Heated underground parking was great since we went in late October so it was pretty chilly out. Jacuzzi was a nice addition as well! The one thing I would have liked was a bigger breakfast in the morning. The room was so comfortable and welcoming. I felt right at home! I would definitely suggest staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. As stated in other review responses we are in the process of upgrading our breakfast to include more offerings. These things do take some time to develop and we appreciate you being patient with us! We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the second Odessy resort property we have stayed at, after several amazing stays at lartmont cottages we thought we would try beacon pointe as it was closer to the ski hill. We choose this property because of the condo options. We were looking for something with a kitchen and 2 br. Overall it was avoid stay.

Booking & Check-in: booked directly by calling the property. This was an easy process, at booking was given the option of a 1st or second floor room, requested 1st floor so that we could walk right out to the lake. At check in we were given a third floor room. When I advised that 3rd floor was not what was requested the gal checking us in just looked at me a said, oh they must have moved you.
Third floor turned out to be ok as it was too cold and windy to wander outside
Overall we had pleasant interactions with the staff, However for our experiences at Larsmont cottages as a guest, and dinning at superior lodge the staff here treat you much more like a hotel guest than to family like welcome you receive at the other oddesey resorts.

Accommodations: we stayed in a 2 br. Condo. This was perfect for two couples. It was a combo of the Deluxe guest room and 1 br condo.
Thw deluxe guest room had amazing views of the lake from the bed, was spacious enough and the perfect ammenities if your looking for a litte getaway. This connected to the 1 be condo through a connecting door and common foyer.
The 1br condo has great views of the lake from the common space. Fireplace worked well, kitchen was well stocked for cooking with ALL the basics. Furniture was comfy with throw pillows.
The decor is modern but homey.
The condo had a large bath with a jetted tub and vessel sink. Plush robes were also available.
The br was large and the bed comfortable. There was a clock with an iPod docking station in the bedroom, however the time was not set correctly and could not figure out how to reset it. The downside of this bedroom is that there are no windows as its in the back of the condo.

Resort amenities: pool and hot tub were clean and did not smell of chlorine, but I think they may use a saline system? The sauna was dry with norway of making it steamy, also didn't have a good cedar aroma.
We were skiing during our trip and took advantage of the discount tickets for sale at the resort. These were a good deal!
Breakfast was limited, waffles,apples, 2-3 kinds of cereal, yogurt,dry Danish style pastries, Very Stale English muffins & bagels. Coffee with flavored creamer and juice.
Newspapers were available in the lobby.
There is a limited but nice variety of DVDs available for checkout from the desk.
Also a large binder of local resurant menus and things to do in the area.
Underground parking is easy and a great feature. The only bad thing was that they were cleaning the ramp during part of our stay so we had to park outside.

Overall this property works well if your looking for spacious accommodations with easy access to Duluth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We do apologize you were booked on the wrong floor but are happy that you were comfortable in your condo. Also, we are always taking suggestions by guests as well as staff from other resorts in our family to see what we can do to improve our customer service. We strive for the best. As far as our breakfast is concerned we have just started buying from a new food vendor and soon we will be offering more breakfast choices. Thank you again for your feed back and we hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews