We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
279
94
49
36
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
279
94
49
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingbedroom condofull kitchenthree bedroomthe penthousecanal parkother resortsjacuzzi tubadirondack chairswalk or bikeview of the lakelake superiorlakeside suiteanniversary weekendcontinental breakfastprivate patiolift bridge
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 476 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just returned from a two-night stay in one of Beacon Pointe's 2-bedroom lake view condos. I have to say up front that the staff could not have been nicer, and the premises could not have been cleaner. The particular unit in which we stayed was very spacious and well-equipped. The lake view is spectacular. The underground parking was a very pleasant bonus as it was quite cold and windy last weekend.

Where Beacon Pointe missed the mark, however, was in "coziness." We wanted a relaxing weekend away in a spot we could simply lounge and watch the waves roll in from the lake. Every other place we have stayed along the north shore seems to have recognized that this is a common desire, and they have provided ample throw blankets and pillows to go with their lounge-worthy furniture. Beacon Pointe has opted to be much more contemporary in its styling, and this resulted in the living room being furnished with two of the least comfortable chairs and a terrible short-backed leather sofa sleeper. This made true lounging - our ultimate goal for the getaway weekend - an impossibility.

Now to some this won't matter, and if you are one of them, you'll like this spot for the reasons stated above. If relaxation is on your agenda, however, try another place. Again, the staff was very friendly and this was not a bad place, but it could just so easily be so much better.

Another reviewer's comments about the very noisy Jacuzzi tub and the wall-unit air conditioners are also true. (We didn't use the air conditioners but the unit is not central air equipped. I'm not sure how well this add-on units will function in the summer.) I also would have preferred a real fireplace instead of a not-so-real-looking gas fireplace. Finally, another reviewer's description of the walls as being "paper thin" is also true. The second night of our stay we had neighbors who were quite loud well past 11:00 p.m. We could hear nearly every word they said. Had we also occupied the adjoining third bedroom I suspect this would not have been an issue, but alas, we didn't need the extra space.

All in all this is not a bad place to stay, and we might even go back if our agenda is more active, but for a relaxing weekend away we think Beacon Pointe fell short.

Room Tip: Why go to the North Shore and get a highway view room? The lake views are outstanding so spend the extra money.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone and tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We are currently in the process of ordering new bedding and blankets. Hopefully next time you and your family can enjoy a in room fire and a throw blanket! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

spent our anniversary here. absolutely perfect. great location and view. jacuzzi was really noisy so we chose not to use it late at night :( underground parking was really handy. the view is absolutely the best you can get in duluth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review and give us your feedback. We are sorry that the level of jacuzzi noise affected your stay with us. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable! Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had booked this resort for my anniversary. I spent a little extra than staying at a hotel since it was a special occassion. We got a standard inside room with no lake view. The room was very spacious. I liked having the small kitchenette. We did some DVD's from Redbox a couple of nights although they had their own DVD library you could borrow for one night for free. There was a wide selection of channels although the channel guide in the Guest Booklet in the room was wrong. The rooms have a wall air conditioner. We tried to cool the room down but it kept blowing warm air (I know it's October and in the 30's - 40's at night but I can't sleep at 77 in the room). I called the front desk and they weren't able to figure out the problem so we had to wait the next day until the maintenance man returned and just cracked the windows. The pool area was nice and clean. They had a continental breakfast in the morning. There was parking outside the building as well as a parking garage below which appeared to be heated. The king bed was super comfy. It was close to places to eat. A couple members of the front desk staff didn't give me the warm fuzzy feeling but overall it was a nice, clean and modern place that we would stay at again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to see the interstate choose a lake view room. We had our blinds closed most of the stay so it wasn't of much importance.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deegeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Beacon Pointe Resort! We hope you come back soon to make more life long memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom penthouse suite and it was average. Very spacious. It was on the top floor which was nice however, beware if you're a light sleeper or go to sleep early. The walls are INCREDIBLY thin. We could hear every conversation, cough, nose blow, door closing, blender, toilet flush, etc from the room below us. We could even hear the people walking hard, which, considering we were above them was crazy. The toiletries were half used but the room itself was clean.

Only half the tv channels in the bedroom worked although they did send maintenance up, he couldn't figure out how to fix it. It wasn't a big deal to us so we didn't ask again for a fix.

We had a spectacular view and it was great to be right on the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fmnj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am sorry that the level of noise in our resort was disruptive of your stay. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email, mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

few rooms, for a wedding party/guests, were not ready until 4 or 4:30.
on our 2nd day, the cleaning staff showed up at 5:00...sorry, we were getting ready for a wedding / night out (should have come during the day!)
Rooms were nice, clean...nice beds, sheets, pillows, towels. Even had small pkg of makeup remover in the bathroom:)

Complimentary breakfast excellent variety...make your own waffles, 3 cereals, apples, bananas, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, donuts, english muffins, bagels, coffee (with flavored creamers!!), oj, apple juice, milk. Yum!!

Nice underground parking in case outdoor parking was full, which it often was. Great view of the lake (if you get that side of the resort)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am sorry that the level of guest service did not meet your expectations. Please contact Troy at troy@beaconpointeduluth.com for future reservations, and we will be sure to get you into your room at a sooner time! Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews