We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened to being able to check into hotels by 3pm?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beacon Pointe Resort
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What happened to being able to check into hotels by 3pm?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

few rooms, for a wedding party/guests, were not ready until 4 or 4:30.
on our 2nd day, the cleaning staff showed up at 5:00...sorry, we were getting ready for a wedding / night out (should have come during the day!)
Rooms were nice, clean...nice beds, sheets, pillows, towels. Even had small pkg of makeup remover in the bathroom:)

Complimentary breakfast excellent variety...make your own waffles, 3 cereals, apples, bananas, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, donuts, english muffins, bagels, coffee (with flavored creamers!!), oj, apple juice, milk. Yum!!

Nice underground parking in case outdoor parking was full, which it often was. Great view of the lake (if you get that side of the resort)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am sorry that the level of guest service did not meet your expectations. Please contact Troy at troy@beaconpointeduluth.com for future reservations, and we will be sure to get you into your room at a sooner time! Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    63
    39
    31
    15
See reviews for
90
130
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a great view of the lake, I can step out on the deck and see the great Minnesota Lake. You can see the view of Bay Port, ships, boats, people, ect... My room reminds me of a fancy studio. Only down fall is breakfast, you can better breakfast at some Country Inn.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leemabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at our resort! We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom deluxe suite, facing the water. It's hard to get any better than an oversized window staring right at Lake Superior. The suite was exceptionally clean, and the kitchenette was a nice bonus, although we didn't really end up using it. Loved the gas fireplace that came on with the heat, it added a nice cozy touch. Absolutely I would stay here again. It is a little pricey if you don't find the right discount, but overall, I would say the cost is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiBelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband planned our stay at the Beacon Pointe for my birthday. It couln't have been any better! The room - a Deluxe room facing the water - was spacious, quiet and had a beautiful view of not only Lake Superior, but also the aerial lift bridge and Canal Park area. We didn't walk anywhere, but could have walked to Canal Park or to any of a number of restaurants, including Valentini's, Fitgers and the Pickwick. On Sundary morning as we were packing to leave, we spotted a large shipping vessel coming from the north. Within an hour it was right in front of our room - what a site! We will definitely be back - and will bring binoculars with us next time! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori_stevens21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback on our resort! We are very happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I have been staying at Beacon Pointe annually for a few years now. We are usually there during the late summer and so far we have never been disappointed. These are condos that you can actually purchase. The owners rent out their units instead of letting them sit empty, and Beacon Pointe manages the day to day operations of facilitating guests for their condo owners. The condos are very clean and feature a decor that is both modern (granite counters, dark wood, white walls, flat screen TVs) and comfortable. The full kitchen is outfitted with everything you need to prepare meals including things like a strainer, can opener, several pots and pans, bake ware, mixing bowls and of course dishware and utensils. There was even an electric mixer. To be clear, this is a full kitchen, not just a kitchenette. I especially like how the kitchen is very open to the rest of the living area and has a view out the large picture window to the lake.

The location is very close to downtown. They offer bikes to guests, and since the report is right next to the lake walk it is an easy ride to canal park and the lift bridge. There is secure parking underground, which we always find very convenient. We usually end up renting the 2 bedroom condo, which is really a three bedroom condo. Picture two larger but normal shaped hotel rooms with a connecting door between them. On one side you have a bedroom (with TV), bathroom, the full kitchen, a living area (with dinner table, pull out couch, fireplace, flat tv), a large picture window with view of the lake and a door to a small balcony with a couple fo chairs. On the other side you have a small bedroom (more like a den, with a pull out couch and a TV), a bathroom, where the kitchen and living area would be on the other side you have a whirlpool tub, a king size bed, and a counter with a TV/microwave/glasses/dishes/sink/fridge. Finally this side has a door to a larger balcony (this balcony is separated from the smaller kitchen side balcony by a slatted privacy wall).

Between all the rooms, beds and pull out couches, we could easily sleep 6 adults in the "two bedroom" condo. More if some are kids. This has been a great option for us in Duluth and we look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We always end up on the second floor. First floor rooms have a patio instead of a balcony, and I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! We love to hear that Beacon Pointe is your spot of choice! We hope to see you and your family again next year or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent a Saturday and Sunday night here to celebrate our 32nd Anniversary. We were looking for a quiet, private place and this was perfect. We booked an upper unit referred to as a 1br penthouse suite. It was very nice! We had great weather, great views and a great time. Didn't really take advantage of the amenities like the workout room or pool but they were very nice. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Some reviews complained of the noisy doors and hearing your neighbors. Since we were in an upper un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escapefromreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

SO amazing! Overlooking the water, beautiful place to stay, staff is great, great amenities. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!! We went here for our mini-honeymoon, and I could not have asked for a better place to stay. Great view of the lake, and you can stand on the rocks protruding out into the lake, you are close to Canal Park, and some great restaurants (VALENTINIS was PHENOMENAL)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe. We hope to have you as a returning guest, maybe for an anniversary trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.9 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Property: Beacon Pointe Resort
Address: 2100 Water St, Duluth, MN 55812-2134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Pointe accommodations are the finest in Duluth. Options include condos with fully-appointed kitchens, balconies, fireplaces, and separate sleeping quarters. Also available are penthouse suites with roof-top balconies, lakeside suites, and guest rooms. Whether seeking adventure or decompression, Beacon Pointe Resort is the perfect base for your Duluth experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing