We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our winter escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our winter escape”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We are from the Twin Cities, familiar with Duluth and were looking for a quiet place to read, relax, recooperate from a number of busy months and really enjoyed our choice. The hotel was hardly booked on our thurs and Friday, and did get a number of families on the weekend which is a bummer for kid noise but expected in a hotel. We loved sitting by our fireplace all day reading, and string at the lake. Very clean, really liked the full kitchen, and the comp breakfast was not disappointing. This has become our place of choice in Duluth. Oh not to mention underground parking was a hit, ESP in MN in the winter and those strong cold winds off the lake!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    69
    40
    32
    15
See reviews for
102
150
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Here for grandma's marathon with son, DIL and granddaughter age 1. Very spacious room for al of us. Excellent condition. Nicely situated on the lake and lake walk

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

When you first walk in - the lake is right there... 20 feet from your window. That's the great part. The rest of the hotel would be fine for a low-cost budget hotel, but this is definitely not. They have a smoking area right outside of the hotel, right along the beach. That means that you are going to be breathing smoke in if you leave the windows open. The beds are poor, the walls are paper thin, and the balconies face each other (which means that you'll be enjoying your neighbor's whispered conversations), the breakfast makes a budget motel look upscale, and the price is really high. Our recent stay in NYC cost less.

Enough griping. Here are the good parts: Friendly staff - they tried to help. The walking/biking trail starts right out the door. Did I mention the lake? Good kitchenette - after the first breakfast, we just did our own, and a fun city to explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saerdna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email, mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

When we travel, we generally stay somewhere that's clean, decent, and has a bed. We don't expect much. For our 10th anniversary, we wanted to splurge a little and stay somewhere nicer and we chose Beacon Pointe. Aside from the view, there wasn't much to get excited about. There was nothing big wrong, but lots of little things that took away from the "luxury" they advertise.

Note to other hotel guests-don't go for the "partial lake view". We did, trying to save a little money, and "partial lake view" means "mostly a view of the neighbor's driveway, walls, and I'm sure if you look closely, living room". We also had a great view of people going in and out of the underground parking.

We don't like to have housekeeping during our stay, so before we went out for the day, we put our garbage out in the hallway. When we returned it was still there and so was our neighbor's. The next morning, it was all still there, the neighbors had put out even more, and the hallway had a definite fragrance to it.

The fireplace was definitely a nice perk, but it seemed to only work when you turned it on and off a couple of times and set the thermostat to 90. The bathroom sink drained slowly. The Internet was spotty. The bedspread looked pretty worn. Things like that aren't a huge deal, but added together, they definitely take away from the luxury.

We did like the proximity to downtown Duluth without being IN downtown Duluth, and had the weather been nicer, we'd have taken advantage of the free bike rentals.

It wasn't bad, just not worth the money we spent. So for most of the stay, we kept our eye out for other places we'll stay the next time we come to the area.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on upper floors.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamHans04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Ever since they built Beacon Pointe, my husband and I have been curious about it, and wanted to stay. We do overnights in Duluth several times a year, and usually stay at the South Pier. For some reason, I thought Beacon Pointe didn't do one night stays, but they do, and it's really, really lovely. The room is top notch, clean, great little balcony. It's set up more like a hotel (corridors, elevators, an indoor pool, etc.) than I expected.

Our room had a big whirlpool, a little fridge, microwave, even a toaster and some nice glassware and plates and salt and pepper.

I can see that if the people in the adjoining room had been noisy, it would have been a problem, but they were as quiet as we were, so it all worked out great. Staff and other guests were friendly.

Awesome location for a walk on the Lakewalk, and close to Blackwoods for dinner, which we'd never tried either. A repeat of this trip is in our future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyoftheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Beacon Pointe Resort! We love to hear when our guests have a great vacation experince with us! We hope that you both will be returning guests of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

After vacationing in Duluth countless times in countless accommodations, my first stay at Beacon Pointe explains why it's the best in town. Gorgeous rooms, incredible location, great amenities such as free bikes, and a truly hospitable staff. Will be back soon without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olsonmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback about our resort! We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We did a last-minute girls overnight recently to Beacon Pointe. We weren't sure what to expect, but after having spent 14 years traveling with hockey teams, the girls wanted something nice. Luckily, Beacon Pointe had a 3 bedroom condo available at a VERY good price for the one night we wanted. When we arrived, if somebody would have had a video camera, our reaction would have been priceless for YouTube. The second we entered the condo and saw the granite countertops, the 2 jacuzzis and the absolutely MAGNIFICENT view of Lake Superior right our our front window, we jumped around and screamed and hollered like a bunch of school girls! This was by far the nicest place we've stayed in Duluth (and we have ALL been there MANY times). Very clean, updated amenities (like a blender!) and lots of them, comfy beds, 2 DVD players, iHOME docking station, stove, oven...I could go on and on. Needless to say, a very pleasant surprise. We left wondering why we have been traveling to Duluth for years and never stayed there. We hope to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchermerhornTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you SO much for your review of our resort! We love getting such positive feedback from our guests! We hope that you will continue to stay with us and make more great memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.9 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Property: Beacon Pointe Resort
Address: 2100 Water St, Duluth, MN 55812-2134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Pointe accommodations are the finest in Duluth. Options include condos with fully-appointed kitchens, balconies, fireplaces, and separate sleeping quarters. Also available are penthouse suites with roof-top balconies, lakeside suites, and guest rooms. Whether seeking adventure or decompression, Beacon Pointe Resort is the perfect base for your Duluth experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing